In 1983, Congress declared April National Child Abuse Prevention Month to recognize victims of abuse and bring awareness to programs designed to prevent crimes against children.
You can play a part in promoting the social and emotional well-being of children in your community through local advocacy groups such as Massachusetts Citizens for Children or The Children’s Trust Fund (CTF) which provides parenting programs in your area.
Child Abuse Prevention Month is also a good time to make sure you’re aware of how you can help protect children in your community year round by following these three steps:
2. Learn how to manage your anger and seek help when caring for children. You can call the Parental Stress Line 24/7 at 1-800-632-8188. The Children’s Trust Fund also offers expert advice and support for parents including explaining age-appropriate behavior and best practices for providing discipline. Be sure to check out OneToughJob.org (available in English or en Español) for more information. New parents should read All Babies Cry.
3. Report suspected cases of abuse to the Department of Children & Families (DCF). You can file a report at any time by calling the 24-hour Child-at-Risk Hotline (800-792-5200). If you’re a mandated reporter, you are required by law to report suspected abuse and may find this guide helpful.
Looking for more ways to get involved? Join CTF in Step Up for Prevention to experience an installation representing the number of children abused in Massachusetts taking place On April 4th at the State House and April 12th at Pittsfield City Hall.
Road Safety Tips for Massachusetts Drivers posted on Aug 25
Whether you drive to work every day or only get behind the wheel for weekend getaways, it can never hurt to get a refresher on the rules of the road. The Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) and the Highway Safety Division (HSD) of the Executive Office of Public Safety …Continue Reading Road Safety Tips for Massachusetts Drivers
Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In posted on Aug 18
Once you’ve learned your rights as a tenant before you move in, it’s time to figure out what happens after you move in. The Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) and the Attorney General’s Office (AGO) share information about your rights once you have signed a lease and …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In
Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In posted on Aug 16
According to the United States Census Bureau (USCB), as of 2014, more than 37 percent of Massachusetts homes were occupied by renters. Searching for a rental home, signing a lease, and meeting new neighbors can be exciting, but it’s important to know your rights as a …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In