UPDATE – Exam Rescheduled to June 15. Details here.
Anyone interested in becoming a Police Officer or State Trooper in Massachusetts must pass the 2013 Police Officer and State Trooper Exam; the application deadline is March 18, 2013 and the exam takes place on April 20, 2013. There is a $100 application fee. Anyone who applies after Mar. 18 must pay a late fee of $50. Applications will not be accepted after April 1, 2013.
Those who apply have the option to have their exam results considered for both Police Officer and Trooper eligibility lists, or the Police Officer eligibility list only. Passing the exam is mandatory for being considered for a position as a Police Officer, a member of the MBTA Transit Police, or a State Trooper. Check out this study guide to prepare.
For more information, including the selection and hiring process, view this notice of exam.
Police Officer candidates must be at least 21 years old as of April 20, 2013, as well as have a high school diploma or equivalency certificate issued by the Massachusetts Department of Education, or three years of experience in the U. S. military (released or discharged with honor). Those that pass the test and receive a conditional offer of employment will also receive information on taking the Physical Abilities Test and joining the Police Academy.
State Trooper candidates must be between the ages of 21 and 35 as of April 1, 2013, pass a physical fitness test, medical and psychological exam, be a non-smoker, and must not have been convicted of a felony or served jail time for a misdemeanor. They must also have a high school diploma or equivalency certificate approved by the Massachusetts Department of Education.
The examination fee may be waived for candidates receiving certain state or federal public assistance, unemployment insurance, or workers' compensation. Fee Waiver Forms are available here at the bottom of the page. You must follow the instructions on the Fee Waiver Form regarding proper submission of the form and supporting documentation.
Child Support in Massachusetts, Part 2: Changing the Terms of an Arrangement and Enforcement posted on Oct 26
The first part of this child support series focused on how to arrange a child support order and how to make and receive payments in Massachusetts. However, in some cases, you may need to change or enforce your order. The Department of Revenue Child Support Enforcement Division (DOR/CSE) …Continue Reading Child Support in Massachusetts, Part 2: Changing the Terms of an Arrangement and Enforcement
Child Support in Massachusetts, Part 1: Getting an Order and Managing Payments posted on Oct 19
Creating a child support plan is a top concern for most separated or divorced parents in Massachusetts. Figuring out your child support responsibilities and learning how the payment process works can help you create a plan that is best for your child. The Department of Revenue …Continue Reading Child Support in Massachusetts, Part 1: Getting an Order and Managing Payments
It’s Pumpkin Season in Massachusetts! posted on Oct 12
The pumpkin is a well-known symbol of fall in New England. Whether you love carving jack-o’-lanterns or baking delicious fall-themed desserts, pumpkins are a staple of the season. The Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources (MDAR), the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), and the U.S. …Continue Reading It’s Pumpkin Season in Massachusetts!