Post Content

""While filing your Massachusetts taxes this year, don’t forget about property taxes.

The Department of Revenue (DOR) and the Massachusetts Court System provide information on who’s required to pay property taxes and where to file them.

Do I Need to Pay Property Taxes?

If you own real estate in Massachusetts, which includes land and buildings used for personal or business purposes, that property is taxable under Massachusetts Property Tax Law. Generally, you will pay property taxes each quarter unless certain circumstances apply to you:

  • Homeowners with a Mortgage — According to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), if you have a mortgage on your home, your property taxes may be taken directly from an escrow account. These accounts are set up by your mortgage lender and allow you to pay your property taxes with your monthly mortgage payment. Check to see if your loan includes an escrow account to find out if this applies to you. If your loan doesn’t include an escrow account, you may be able to request one.
  • Residents Who Qualify for Exemptions — Some real estate tax exemptions or property tax deferrals are available for seniors, veterans, and people who are blind. In most cases, you must apply for exemptions by Dec. 15 each year.

Where Can I Find Out How to File Property Taxes?

Property taxes are filed and collected through the town or city where the property is located, not through the state government. Forms, policies, and tax rates vary depending on the municipality. To help you find out how to file property taxes for your city or town, the Massachusetts Municipal Association provides a list of official city and town websites. In addition, the Secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts has telephone listings for city and town halls throughout the Bay State.

Massachusetts Real Estate Tax Credit for Seniors

In addition to possible exemptions from municipalities, seniors in the Commonwealth may be eligible for a tax credit on their state income taxes. The Circuit Breaker Tax Credit allows some individuals who are 65 and over to claim a refund of up to $1,070 for rent or property taxes paid on their primary residence. To find out if you are eligible, read the 2015 real estate tax credit changes.

Contact your city or town for more information on property taxes in Massachusetts.

Share this post with friends and family who will be filing property taxes this year. Tweet @MassGov or comment below with questions.

Written By:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Recent Posts

Celebrate Independence Day in Massachusetts posted on Jun 23

Celebrate Independence Day in Massachusetts

As the state where the Boston Tea Party, Battle of Bunker Hill, and first shots of the American Revolution happened, Massachusetts is a special place to celebrate the 4th of July. Whether you’re looking for a free event for the family or a way to give back to America’s   …Continue Reading Celebrate Independence Day in Massachusetts

Clean Beaches Week: 6 Ways to Protect the Massachusetts Coast posted on Jun 21

Clean Beaches Week: 6 Ways to Protect the Massachusetts Coast

Did you know that the Massachusetts coastline is long enough to run from Boston to Miami on Interstate 95? Learn how you can help preserve more than 1,500 miles of the Commonwealth’s coast during Clean Beaches Week, July 1–7. Read these helpful tips from the Office   …Continue Reading Clean Beaches Week: 6 Ways to Protect the Massachusetts Coast

The 100 Deadliest Days: Help Teen Drivers Stay Safe this Summer posted on Jun 17

The 100 Deadliest Days: Help Teen Drivers Stay Safe this Summer

This is a guest blog post from the Highway Safety Division (HSD) of the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS). Summer is here. For many in Massachusetts, it’s time for beaches, barbecues, and fun. But for teen drivers, summer is also known as the 100 Deadliest   …Continue Reading The 100 Deadliest Days: Help Teen Drivers Stay Safe this Summer