Post Content

Filing paperwork
Moving to Massachusetts:
Part 1

  1. Planning Your Move
  2. Moving With Pets
  3. Moving Day Parking Restrictions
  4. Change of Address
  5. Establishing Residency
  6. Visas

Part 2

  1. Converting an Out-Of-State Driver’s License
  2. Converting a Driver’s License From a Foreign Country
  3. Changing a Massachusetts Driver’s License or ID Address
  4. Converting an Out-Of-State Vehicle Registration
  5. Bringing Leased Vehicles to Massachusetts

Part 3

  1. Employment
  2. Education
  3. Health Care Coverage
  4. Automobile Insurance
  5. Taxes

 

From finding a job and choosing an insurance plan to discovering education options and learning about state tax laws, newcomers to Massachusetts have a lot to consider. Fortunately, state agencies provide resources to help new residents make fully informed decisions for themselves and their family.

Employment

The Office of Labor and Workforce Development provides listings of job and training opportunities available to Massachusetts residents. Those interested in working for the state should also check out the Commonwealth Employment Opportunities website.

Job seekers new to Massachusetts can also find career assistance and training at one of the 33 One-Stop Career Centers across the state.

Education

Massachusetts maintains quality public schools and offers an array of elementary, middle, high school, and higher education options.

Parents weighing options for their children can research profiles of public schools and school districts to evaluate information including class size, teacher-to-student ratios, test scores, and demographics.

Young adult and adult newcomers to Massachusetts have a variety of public higher education campuses across the Commonwealth to choose from, including community and state colleges. The Commonwealth also offers online adult learning through the Massachusetts Colleges Online and UMass Online programs.

Health Care Coverage

The Massachusetts Health Care Reform Law requires Massachusetts residents 18 years old and older to have health insurance for the entire year or pay a penalty through their tax returns.

Residents have several options for finding health care coverage in Massachusetts if it is not provided through employment or education benefits:

Automobile Insurance

Massachusetts requires that all drivers obtain a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage so parties involved can be financially responsible in case of an accident.

The Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) offers:

Taxes

Massachusetts taxes most income at a rate of 5.2 percent, while certain capital gains are taxed at a rate of 12 percent. Full-year residents and part-year residents whose Massachusetts gross income exceeds $8,000 during the taxable year are required to file a tax return, as are nonresidents whose gross Massachusetts income exceeds either $8,000 or their prorated personal exemption, whichever is less.

Read more in our “Moving to Massachusetts” blog series:

Part 1 – Planning Your Move

Part 2 – Driver’s Licenses and Motor Vehicle Registration

 

Written By:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Recent Posts

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In posted on Jul 31

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In

According to the United States Census Bureau (USCB), as of 2013, more than 37 percent of Massachusetts homes were occupied by renters. Searching for a rental home, signing a lease, and meeting new neighbors can be exciting, but it’s also important that you keep your   …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In

How to Have a Safe Summer in Massachusetts posted on Jul 28

How to Have a Safe Summer in Massachusetts

After a long snowy winter, it’s no surprise that Massachusetts residents are enjoying the warmer weather — but as you dive into summer activities, make sure you’re doing them safely. The Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS), Department of Public Health (DPH), and Department   …Continue Reading How to Have a Safe Summer in Massachusetts

Hurricane Preparedness: Be Ready Before the Storm posted on Jul 23

Hurricane Preparedness: Be Ready Before the Storm

This is a guest blog post from the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). While the Atlantic hurricane season runs from June 1 through Nov. 30, historically the most active time for tropical storms and hurricanes in the Northern Atlantic is August to October. As such,   …Continue Reading Hurricane Preparedness: Be Ready Before the Storm