Post Content

Motorcycle safety

Riding a motorcycle can be a thrilling and enjoyable experience. In order to prevent injury or accidents, it’s important to abide by Massachusetts law and practice motorcycle safety. Massachusetts strives to reduce the number of motorcycle-related fatalities and injuries in the Commonwealth.

Obtaining a Motorcycle Permit and License

You can obtain a motorcycle permit and license by visiting a local Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) office.

  • Any person over the age of 16 may apply for a Class M (Motorcycle) permit and is required to take a written and vision test.
  • To apply for a Class M license, you must be older than 18 years old, have a valid Class M permit, complete the Class M License and ID Card Application, and pass a road test.

Safety Tips for MotorcycleRiders
Before hitting the road, make sure you’re ready to ride safely.

o   Wear bright, protective clothing – Motorcyclists should be easily seen and keep their arms and legs covered. Denim and leather are also great materials to protect your skin from sunburn and scratches, and can also help maintain body temperature.

o   Use proper lane position – It helps drivers see you and protects your riding space. If you can see a driver in their side-view mirror, they can see you.

  • Know and obey traffic laws – Following rules and regulations will lead to an overall safer ride.

More Resources for Motorcycle Safety

By following state laws and motorcycle safety best practices, you’ll be prepared to enjoy an exciting ride in Massachusetts!

Share your favorite scenic routes to ride in MA, comment below or tweet us @MassGov.

Written By:

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Recent Posts

Road Safety Tips for Massachusetts Drivers posted on Aug 25

Road Safety Tips for Massachusetts Drivers

Whether you drive to work every day or only get behind the wheel for weekend getaways, it can never hurt to get a refresher on the rules of the road. The Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) and the Highway Safety Division (HSD) of the Executive Office of Public Safety   …Continue Reading Road Safety Tips for Massachusetts Drivers

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In posted on Aug 18

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In

Once you’ve learned your rights as a tenant before you move in, it’s time to figure out what happens after you move in. The Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) and the Attorney General’s Office (AGO) share information about your rights once you have signed a lease and   …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In posted on Aug 16

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In

According to the United States Census Bureau (USCB), as of 2014, more than 37 percent of Massachusetts homes were occupied by renters. Searching for a rental home, signing a lease, and meeting new neighbors can be exciting, but it’s important to know your rights as a   …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In