Post Content

Buying a home is one of the biggest purchases a consumer will ever make. Although buying and owning a home may seem daunting, prospective Massachusetts homeowners have a wealth of resources to prepare themselves.

HUD-approved housing counseling agencies and Community Development Corporations around Massachusetts provide a variety of information for landlords, tenants, homeowners, and prospective homebuyers. First-time homebuyers can enroll in courses to better prepare for the responsibilities that come with owning a home. Lessons provided through these courses include information about home inspections and maintenance, understanding and obtaining a mortgage, credit and finances, and more.

Staff from the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulations has partnered with the Asian Community Development Corporation in Boston to teach first-time homebuyers about understanding credit. In these courses, prospective homebuyers learn how to read a credit report, how to use credit cards wisely, and how to take charge of their finances to prepare for this major purchase.

In June 2013, the Patrick Administration announced the Massachusetts Homeownership Compact that created a goal to provide 10,000 mortgages to first-time homebuyers. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts partnered with banks, credit unions, and other lenders to offer mortgage products that require less money down and provide lower interest rates to first-time homebuyers. One of these mortgage products is offered under the ONE Mortgage Program through the Massachusetts Housing Partnership, and other special mortgage products are offered through MassHousing. Many of these mortgage assistance organizations require prospective homeowners to complete a first-time homebuyer course to be eligible for their programs.

Prospective homeowners should take advantage of these free or very low-cost classes around the Commonwealth to become a savvy first-time homebuyer. For more information about where to find first-time homebuyer courses and low-cost mortgage products, visit the Office of Housing and Economic Development’s First Time Homebuyer page.

 

Written By:

Recent Posts

Doc Fee Audit posted on Jun 22

Doc Fee Audit

  “Doc fees,” short for “documentation or documentary fees,” are fees that may be charged by a car dealership as part of a motor vehicle sale. They are neither required nor prohibited by Massachusetts state law. What’s the scoop on doc fees? Doc fees generally   …Continue Reading Doc Fee Audit

Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter posted on Jun 20

Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter

  Earlier this month, a federal court in Illinois ordered penalties totaling $280 million against Dish Network as a result of litigation brought by the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) for violating the FTC’s Telemarketing Sales Rule and the   …Continue Reading Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter

Preventing Elder Financial Abuse posted on Jun 15

Preventing Elder Financial Abuse

  It is estimated that five million elders are exploited each year in the U.S, costing them $36.5 billion annually. Yet, studies show that only 1 in 14 cases are reported to the authorities. As a group, the elderly control a large amount of the   …Continue Reading Preventing Elder Financial Abuse