Starting tomorrow, you’ll have 21 days to pay your credit card bill, and at least 45 days advance notice if your credit card company is changed your interest rate, the required minimum payment, or increasing fees.
The changes are the first in a series of reforms signed into law by President Obama earlier this year. Other changes will go into effect in February.
These first changes are important ones for consumers. In recent months, in the run-up to the new rules, credit card companies have been making changes to accounts. Many cardholders, for example, have seen immediate increases in their minimum payments. The new rules give cardholders the option of rejecting the changes, and paying off the remaining balance and not using the card any longer.
There are, however, some things consumers should be aware of. New fees are only required to be disclosed before they are imposed. If a low-rate, or zero-percent rate is about to expire, no notice is required if the new rate was originally disclosed. No notice is required if a credit limit is lowered.
These changes are good first steps toward addressing some of the practices of the credit card industry that consumers have complained about, and help many cardholders who were hit hard before these rules were put in place.
How to Combat Illegal Robocalls posted on Jul 25
Robocalls have become an all-too-common nuisance for consumers. Robocalls are unsolicited, pre-recorded phone calls, often scams, which are made to consumers without their permission, as opposed to calls solicited by the consumer, such as those from pharmacies and childrens’ schools. Robocalls are illegal in Massachusetts under M.G.L. c. 159C. While consumers can, and should, sign-up -for both the state and national Do-Not-Call lists, unfortunately this does not always stop many unscrupulous solicitors and scammers from making these calls.
Summary of the 2015 Consumer Federation of America Annual Consumer Complaint Survey posted on Jul 22
The Consumer Federation of America and the North American Consumer Protection Investigators recently released the results of the 2015 Consumer Complaint Survey. This report is based on consumer information, complaints, and suggestions for increased consumer protections from 33 consumer agencies in 21 states.
Do-Not-Call Consumer & Solicitor Responsibilities posted on Jul 20
The Massachusetts Do-Not-Call Registry allows consumers to stop receiving certain telephone solicitations simply by signing-up and providing their telephone number. Established in 2003, the law requires telephone solicitors, list-brokers, and telemarketers to register with the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation, subscribe to the Do-Not-Call Registry, and remove registered telephone numbers of consumers from their call lists.