Post Content

 

The Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation often warns consumers against scams and fake offers. But in the case of the milk lawsuit, there’s no scam. Consumers who were residents of specific states and bought dairy products in that state any time between 2003 and now are eligible for free money.

In response to a lawsuit alleging they intentionally and prematurely slaughtered cows in order to increase the price of milk and other dairy products, the National Milk Producers Federation, its subsidiary Cooperatives Working Together, and other dairy producers, agreed to a $52 million class action settlement. Consumers who purchased milk or dairy products between 2003 to present day while living in Arizona, California, Washington DC, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, West Virginia, or Wisconsin, are eligible for up to $20 cash back.

There are a few details consumers should be aware of before making their claim:

  • The products must have been purchased at a grocery store or other retailer and not directly from the producer.
  • You don’t need proof of purchase or residency to submit a claim.
  • Claims are stated to be between $10 and $20 on the official settlement website, however, since the settlement is fixed, payments may decrease as the number of claims increase.
  • The claims period began September 2, 2016 and ends January 31, 2017. Consumers can file a claim online at https://www.boughtmilk.com/ or by mail.

If you have additional questions, contact the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation by calling our Consumer Hotline at (617) 973-8787, or toll-free in MA at (888) 283-3757, Monday through Friday, from 9 am-4:30 pm. Follow the Office on Facebook and Twitter, @Mass_Consumer. The Baker-Polito Administration’s Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation along with its five agencies work together to achieve two goals: to protect and empower consumers through advocacy and education, and to ensure a fair playing field for all Massachusetts businesses. The Office also oversees the state’s Lemon Laws, data breach reporting, Home Improvement Contractor Program and the state’s Do Not Call Registry.

Written By:

Recent Posts

Doc Fee Audit posted on Jun 22

Doc Fee Audit

  “Doc fees,” short for “documentation or documentary fees,” are fees that may be charged by a car dealership as part of a motor vehicle sale. They are neither required nor prohibited by Massachusetts state law. What’s the scoop on doc fees? Doc fees generally   …Continue Reading Doc Fee Audit

Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter posted on Jun 20

Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter

  Earlier this month, a federal court in Illinois ordered penalties totaling $280 million against Dish Network as a result of litigation brought by the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) for violating the FTC’s Telemarketing Sales Rule and the   …Continue Reading Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter

Preventing Elder Financial Abuse posted on Jun 15

Preventing Elder Financial Abuse

  It is estimated that five million elders are exploited each year in the U.S, costing them $36.5 billion annually. Yet, studies show that only 1 in 14 cases are reported to the authorities. As a group, the elderly control a large amount of the   …Continue Reading Preventing Elder Financial Abuse