Post Content

Lemon-Law-new

The Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation surveys car dealerships in the Commonwealth semi-annually to evaluate their compliance with the Massachusetts Lemon Laws. Massachusetts law mandates that Lemon Law stickers must be displayed on every vehicle for sale, new and used, at every Massachusetts auto dealership.

The Lemon Law is designed to protect consumers who purchase a new or used vehicle, only to later discover that the vehicle has a serious defect that cannot be repaired despite a reasonable number of attempts. Lemon Law stickers are important because they inform consumers of these protections with regard to a refund or replacement should their vehicle have a defect(s) that impacts their safety or their ability to drive it.


In spring 2019, inspectors visited 167 dealerships in 77 municipalities across the Commonwealth.

Our findings:
• 105 dealerships (63% of dealerships audited) achieved 100% compliance with the Lemon Laws. 100% compliance is defined as all vehicles having a Lemon Law sticker. The number of dealerships with 100% compliance increased from 54 in the fall 2018 audit to 105 in the spring 2019 audit.
• 31 dealerships (18% of dealerships audited) had 0% compliance. We define 0% compliance as fewer than 50% of the total number of vehicles audited at a dealership displayed stickers.
• 21 of the dealerships audited this spring were revisited again from last fall’s audit. 7 of these dealerships have shown an improvement in their compliance percentage.

When car shopping, check to see if Lemon Law stickers are on display and notify our Office as well as the local licensing authority if you visit a dealership that is not properly displaying Lemon Law stickers. It is important that consumers know their rights before making such a major purchase.

The full audit can be found on our website:
https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2019/04/26/Spring%202019%20Dealer%20Audit%20Report.pdf 

More information on the Lemon Laws for new and used cars can be found on our website: https://www.mass.gov/topics/lemon-laws 

Additional information about private party sales, cars that fail inspection within the first 7 days of the date of purchase, and other auto resources can also be found on our website.


The Baker-Polito Administration’s Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation along with its five agencies work together to achieve two goals: to protect and empower consumers through advocacy and education, and to ensure a fair playing field for Massachusetts businesses. The Office also oversees the state’s Lemon Laws and Arbitration Program, Data Breach reporting, Home Improvement Contractor Programs and the MA Do Not Call Registry. Contact the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation by calling our Consumer Hotline at (617) 973-8787, or toll-free in MA at (888) 283-3757, Monday through Friday, from 9 am-4:30 pm. Follow the Office on Facebook and Twitter, @Mass_Consumer.

Written By:

Recent Posts

Shop Smart this Black Friday 2019! posted on Nov 26

Shop Smart this Black Friday 2019!

Black Friday is almost here! While looking through advertisements for the perfect deals, don’t forget the protections afforded to you as a consumer under Massachusetts Law. To help you prepare for this big shopping day, we’ve complied some important tips to keep in mind: Shopping   …Continue Reading Shop Smart this Black Friday 2019!

Customized Wheelchair Lemon Law Arbitration program Overview posted on Nov 14

Customized Wheelchair Lemon Law Arbitration program Overview

Consumers in Massachusetts who purchase wheelchairs may face unfair and deceptive business practices. Fortunately, our Office administers a Wheelchair Arbitration program based on Customized Wheelchair Lemon Law (M.G.L. c. 93, § 107). The program provides you with the ability to settle disputes with the manufacturer   …Continue Reading Customized Wheelchair Lemon Law Arbitration program Overview

Save On Your Cable TV Bill! posted on Nov 5

Save On Your Cable TV Bill!

Cutting the cord has become a common phrase for consumers switching from traditional cable providers to internet and streaming television options. Traditional cable packages can cost anywhere from $50 to over $200 per month, making cable one of the higher monthly utilities in your home.   …Continue Reading Save On Your Cable TV Bill!