Post Content

The Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulations advises residents of Revere who were impacted by last week’s tornado to be cautious as they look for repair assistance and seek to file insurance claims. It is important that consumers make sure they are hiring registered contractors and know that it is easy to check a contractor’s registration status. The status of a contractor can be checked here, and the status of a plumber, electrician or sheet metal worker can be checked here.

Our Division of Insurance advises consumers that are seeking to file claims for property damage to take the following steps:

  • Contact your insurance company as soon as possible. Let them know the extent of the damage that was caused by the tornado. Take pictures of the damage, especially if there are items that must be disposed of because they cannot be preserved.
  • Refrain from making permanent repairs until the appraiser or adjuster has inspected your property. It is advised, however, to take temporary actions to prevent further damages such as covering holes in the roof or removing water.
  • Keep meticulous records and receipts of any purchases you made to secure your property and document any phone calls or correspondence with your insurance company or agent; these will help the claims process. Create a home inventory to present to your insurer so that you are properly covered for damaged property.
  • Check if your public adjuster is licensed by the Division of Insurance by calling the DOI at (877) 563-4467 or looking online here.

Above all, residents should be safe! Stay away from down or low-hanging power lines, and do not try to re-enter your home unless it is safe to do so.

The Baker-Polito Administration’s Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation is committed to protecting consumers through consumer advocacy and education, and also works to ensure that the businesses its agencies regulate treat all Massachusetts consumers fairly. Follow the Office on Facebook and Twitter, @Mass_Consumer. Division of Insurance representatives can also be reached at (877) 563-4467.

Written By:

Tags: , , ,

Recent Posts

Doc Fee Audit posted on Jun 22

Doc Fee Audit

  “Doc fees,” short for “documentation or documentary fees,” are fees that may be charged by a car dealership as part of a motor vehicle sale. They are neither required nor prohibited by Massachusetts state law. What’s the scoop on doc fees? Doc fees generally   …Continue Reading Doc Fee Audit

Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter posted on Jun 20

Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter

  Earlier this month, a federal court in Illinois ordered penalties totaling $280 million against Dish Network as a result of litigation brought by the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) for violating the FTC’s Telemarketing Sales Rule and the   …Continue Reading Why Dish Network’s Do Not Call List Violations Matter

Preventing Elder Financial Abuse posted on Jun 15

Preventing Elder Financial Abuse

  It is estimated that five million elders are exploited each year in the U.S, costing them $36.5 billion annually. Yet, studies show that only 1 in 14 cases are reported to the authorities. As a group, the elderly control a large amount of the   …Continue Reading Preventing Elder Financial Abuse