Barbara Anthony, Undersecretary of the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation
The Boston Globe has a story today outlining some new fees facing Bank of America customers. Generally, the bank is raising minimum balance standards and other requirements that would erase fees, meaning more consumers will be paying a monthly fee.
This is not a new phenomenon in the banking industry. Once upon a time, most bank customers were able to get a bank account with no monthly fees attached. Those days are now fading – if not already gone. According to the Globe, Bank of America’s monthly fees range from $6 to $25 a month.
The good news for consumers in Massachusetts is that there options for low-cost, or even no-fee, accounts.
On the no-fee side of the ledger, state-chartered banks must offer accounts with no fees to anyone 18 or younger and 65 or older. These “18-65" accounts are some of the best-kept secrets in Massachusetts, and they shouldn’t be, because they offer a great option for teens learning how to manage money or seniors living on a fixed income. We recently did a survey that found banks do a good job with the required disclosure of the accounts’ availability, but there is plenty of opportunity for more education and attention to these accounts.
Many state-chartered banks also offer low-cost banking accounts to all consumers. These low-cost accounts require no more than $25 to open the account, charge a monthly fee of no more than $3, provide at least 15 free withdrawals per month (including at least eight checks), and charge no more than $1 for additional withdrawals. Last October, we launched our “Save Money! Bank on It” campaign with banking and community organizations around the state, encouraging use of these accounts.
Getting hit with new fees – no matter the bank – is no consumer’s idea of a good time. But options exist at our great community banks for those who are looking for a better deal on their bank accounts.
Purchasing a USED car? Here’s what the Lemon Law means for you. posted on Feb 13
President’s Day is this Monday, and many consumers may be looking to purchase or lease new and used cars. This two part series on car purchasing and leasing will provide tips on how you can get the right car and be protected under the Lemon …Continue Reading Purchasing a USED car? Here’s what the Lemon Law means for you.
Purchasing or leasing a NEW car? Here’s what the Lemon Law means for you. posted on Feb 12
With President’s Day fast approaching, many consumers are looking to purchase or lease new and used cars. This two part series on car purchasing and leasing will provide tips on how you can get the right car and be protected under the Lemon Law. Before you …Continue Reading Purchasing or leasing a NEW car? Here’s what the Lemon Law means for you.
Survey Says: Lemon Law Compliance on the Rise posted on Dec 29
The Massachusetts Lemon Laws provide legal relief to consumers who are sold a new, used, or leased vehicle that has a significant defect to its safety or use. Under these laws, car dealerships are required to place a bright yellow Lemon Law sticker on each …Continue Reading Survey Says: Lemon Law Compliance on the Rise