Barbara Anthony, Undersecretary of the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation
Not everyone would be interested in a yellow car, but when you go car shopping, it’s a good idea to look for yellow – the yellow sticker that must be attached to all cars that detail the Massachusetts Lemon Laws.
Today, we announced the results of a survey we did at 73 dealerships around the Boston area and Cape Cod, checking to see how many cars had the necessary yellow stickers (seen on the right). We found that 43 percent of the 1,912 cars we checked did not have the stickers. We found that of the 1,304 used cars we checked, 51 percent were missing stickers. (To see all the results of our survey, visit our Publications & Reports section of our website.)
We sent letters to all the dealers we visited, informing them that these stickers are important and need to be in a conspicuous place, so consumers can plainly see what their rights are. The Lemon Law is a valuable consumer protection for people thinking about buying a car, and consumers have a right to know their rights under the Lemon Law. These stickers detail repair and refund rules, and deadlines to request free repairs.
The best practice is for dealers to be consistent about putting the stickers on every car, and we found many dealerships that follow through on that requirement. This way, consumers will always know their rights, whether they’re looking at one car or a bunch of cars when shopping.
Our website includes a wealth of information about the Lemon Laws, including the New and Leased Lemon Law, the Used Car Lemon Law, and much more. We also operate the Lemon Law Arbitration Program. If you have any questions, please call our Consumer Hotline at (888) 283-3757. Click here to watch Channel 5's story on the survey.
IRS Scam Alert: Don’t Be Tricked into Paying Debts You Don’t Really Owe posted on Oct 3
Recently, the Hotline received three calls about this scam in just one week, so it is important for consumers to know how it works and how to avoid being scammed.
Massachusetts Health Insurers Now Required to Provide Prices in Real-Time posted on Oct 1
Starting October 1, health insurance companies in Massachusetts must provide online cost estimator tools for their members to compare the price and out-of-pocket costs of certain healthcare services, procedures, or hospital admissions.
Can’t pay your phone bill? Stay connected with telephone assistance posted on Sep 10
Staying connected to local resources and emergency services can improve and possibly save many lives, say state regulators. Access to local emergency services and community resources is vital to our low-income and elderly residents. The Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable (DTC) wants residents to …Continue Reading Can’t pay your phone bill? Stay connected with telephone assistance