Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers
Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
* six seconds, one video * Endless loops to promote teen safety at work! 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth *VINE* Contest Who is eligible? Teens ages 14-19. High school-aged Massachusetts teens (14-19) not enrolled in post-secondary education, are eligible to enter the contest. …Continue Reading 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth *VINE* Contest
* your words, your design * One poster to promote teen safety at work! 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth Poster Contest Who is eligible? Teens ages 14-19. High school-aged Massachusetts teens (14-19) not enrolled in post-secondary education, are eligible to enter the contest. Note: …Continue Reading 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth Poster Contest
The Department of Labor (DOL) has appointed David R. Wallace, Director of the Massachusetts Division of Apprentice Standards to serve on the Advisory Committee on Apprenticeships (ACA) chaired by DOL Secretary Thomas Perez to create job-driven career pathways and work-based learning opportunities for American workers. Wallace will join 24 others representing employers, labor unions and workers to help advance the President’s goals of the American apprenticeship initiative.
Worcester Envelope Company in Auburn celebrated a lot of milestones in the last year, 120 years in business as a family run operation and most recently, its 10th year in the Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) jointly run by the Department …Continue Reading Small Business in Auburn Maintains Membership in Exclusive Workplace Safety Program
It’s the law. Anyone ages 14-17 hired by an employer for pay must have an employment permit. Recent interviews completed by Teens at Work Project staff within the Department of Public Health’s Occupational Health Surveillance Program found that among over 250 teens who had sustained …Continue Reading May is Young Worker Safety Month
While we remember fallen workers during Workers’ Memorial Day each year, let’s work together—employers and employees; labor and management—to end these workplace tragedies.
On April 28 of every year, we take time to remember our fallen workers and reaffirm our mission to work to make workplaces safer.
Please visit the Department of Labor Standards (DLS) Workplace Safety and Health Program table at the MASSbuys Expo May 1st at the DCU Center in Worcester. The Workplace Safety and Health Program’s mission is to prevent workplace injuries among public sector workers. We achieve this …Continue Reading Look for Workplace Safety and Health Program at the MASSbuys Expo