Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
* six seconds, one video * Endless loops to promote teen safety at work! 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth *VINE* Contest Who is eligible? Teens ages 14-19. High school-aged Massachusetts teens (14-19) not enrolled in post-secondary education, are eligible to enter the contest. …Continue Reading 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth *VINE* Contest
* your words, your design * One poster to promote teen safety at work! 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth Poster Contest Who is eligible? Teens ages 14-19. High school-aged Massachusetts teens (14-19) not enrolled in post-secondary education, are eligible to enter the contest. Note: …Continue Reading 2015 MA Safe Jobs for Youth Poster Contest
Each year there are shooters, instructors, and maintenance staff that become sick from lead poisoning received at their firing range.
Homes and other structures built before 1978 may contain lead paint. Lead-contaminated dust can cause lead poisoning in children, pregnant women, contractors, and other workers, their families, and even pets.
Green cleaning reduces the impact on human health and the environment.
Heat illnesses and deaths are preventable. Employers are responsible for providing workplaces that are safe from excessive heat.
Municipal employees are subject to accidents and injuries while working in bucket trucks and aerial lifts to hang flags and decorations, trim trees, or make repairs to buildings or streetlights. Some of the high hazards of working in bucket trucks or on any elevated work …Continue Reading Prevent Aerial Lift Accidents
Falls in construction and other lines of employment are entirely preventable. Yet, in 2012, 269 people went to work at a construction site and never came home because they had fallen to their death. Please join us the week of June 2nd in an effort …Continue Reading National Safety Stand-Down To Prevent Falls in Construction
May is Young Worker Safety Month in Massachusetts. As many teenagers are looking for summer jobs at this time, it is important to remember that anyone under the age of eighteen must have a job-specific work permit before starting any job. To learn about the …Continue Reading Youth Permit Process