Green cleaning is more popular than ever and the term is heard often, but what is it all about? Green cleaning is when you use a product that reduces the impact on both human health as well as the environment when compared to other available products. Despite the lesser impact that green cleaners have, they can still cause skin irritation, eye irritation or trigger asthma for those who use the products. The likelihood of causing irritation depends on many factors, including how it is used, its chemical ingredients, and the amount of those ingredients in the product.
To use cleaning products safely, the following steps should be taken:
• Use all products according to the manufacturer’s directions.
• Do not mix cleaning chemicals together. Many products can irritate eyes and trigger asthma when they are mixed together.
• Keep a label on all chemical containers.
• Read the product label before using cleaners. In addition, employees must be trained on proper use and health effects of the products before being assigned to use the products.
• Keep a Safety Data Sheets (SDSs) for each product available to employees. The Safety Data Sheets provide information on appropriate personal protective equipment and on first aid measures.
• Avoid spraying chemical products in an aerosol. Apply cleaners directly to a cloth instead of spraying.
• Use goggles if you might be splashed in the eyes when mixing or using the chemicals. Use gloves to prevent skin contact, as needed.
• Choose products that contain a disinfectant only when disinfection or sanitization is required for specific surfaces.
For agencies and municipalities using the state vendor list, a list of approved green cleaning products is available at www.mass.gov/epp.
BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers posted on Jan 5
Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers
MA Minimum Wage is $9.00/hour January 1, 2015 posted on Dec 15
Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
U.S. Renews Agreement to Help MA Combat Underground Economy posted on Nov 28
US Labor Secretary Tom Perez has renewed a three year agreement to help Massachusetts recover unpaid wages, back taxes unemployment insurance premiums, fines and penalties from employers who engage in fraudulent labor practices like misclassifying workers. The initiative commits the Department of Labor and the IRS to work with the Massachusetts Joint Task Force on the Underground Economy (JTF) which, since its inception, has collected nearly $56 million from unscrupulous businesses.