The Department of Labor Standards welcomed its new director this week, Bill McKinney. McKinney brings extensive experience in state government, having worked in senior leadership roles. He served as the last commissioner of the former Metropolitan District Commission, which is now a part of the …Continue Reading New Director of Labor Standards
With indoor heating systems working on overdrive this time of year, the Department of Labor Standards often fields calls about employer obligations for workplace heat in stores, offices, and other indoor businesses. Private sector employers in Massachusetts are obligated by federal law (OSHA) to provide …Continue Reading Turning up the Heat in the Workplace—Guidelines for Minimum Temperatures
Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers
Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
We want to hear from you. Connect with us.