WORCESTER, MA, JUNE 19, 2015…The federal government has given states new flexibility to design their own workforce development systems, which gives Massachusetts the ability to customize skill-building programs in regions around the state, Gov. Charlie Baker said Friday. Gov. Baker met with a group of …Continue Reading Governor Baker and Secretary Walker highlight opportunity to revamp workforce system
Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers
Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
Women represent nearly half of the labor force in Massachusetts, yet they are woefully under-represented in board rooms, elected office and private sector management. Many women face challenging choices about advancing their careers or meeting expectations at home.
We want to hear from you. Connect with us.