Post Content

While most individuals play by the rules, some try to circumvent the system by collecting weekly unemployment benefits for which they are not eligible. Collecting unemployment benefits under the following scenarios would constitute fraud:

1.      After returning to work full-time

2.      While engaging full-time in starting a business

3.      While on vacation, being incarcerated or otherwise not available

4.      Not reporting earnings

Fraud Prevention

To prevent this from happening, the Department of Unemployment Assistance (DUA) matches records with those of other states and federal agencies, including the Social Security Administration, the Department of Corrections, and the Report of New Hires. DUA also investigates tips received from the Fraud Hotline of individuals working under the table while collecting unemployment benefits. 

There are serious consequences for committing unemployment fraud, including repaying benefits received, losing future benefits, possible fine and even jail time. 

Report Fraud

If you know of individuals who are collecting benefits while working full-time or employers who are paying workers under the table, please contact us.  You can be anonymous.  

1. Call the Fraud Hotline at 1-800-354-9927
2. Email
3. Write to the U.I. Program Integrity Department, P.O. Box 8610, Boston, MA 02114.
4. Send fax to 617-723-5312

Have questions? 

If you are unsure about your situation or have questions about fraud, please contact the Fraud Hotline at 1-800-354-9927 to speak to an agent. 

Don’t let fraud happen to you! 

Written By:

Customer Outreach Director

Recent Posts

BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers posted on Jan 5

Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order   …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers

MA Minimum Wage is $9.00/hour January 1, 2015 posted on Dec 15

MA Minimum Wage is $9.00/hour January 1, 2015

Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.

U.S. Renews Agreement to Help MA Combat Underground Economy posted on Nov 28

U.S. Renews Agreement to Help MA Combat Underground Economy

US Labor Secretary Tom Perez has renewed a three year agreement to help Massachusetts recover unpaid wages, back taxes unemployment insurance premiums, fines and penalties from employers who engage in fraudulent labor practices like misclassifying workers. The initiative commits the Department of Labor and the IRS to work with the Massachusetts Joint Task Force on the Underground Economy (JTF) which, since its inception, has collected nearly $56 million from unscrupulous businesses.