Few people know what they do, but without them the Department of Industrial Accidents couldn’t efficiently settle worker’s compensation disputes. They are called conciliators– employees trained in mediation who help resolve almost half of all worker’s compensation disputes.
The conciliator is the first person the worker and the insurer see to settle their differences over a claim. The conciliator’s goal is to get the parties to resolve their differences before the dispute goes into the formal process for adjudication which can take more time and expense to settle for both parties. The conciliators’ job is to review documentation both parties submit to support their positions. Often times, that means keeping the case schedule flexible in order to give both parties time to collect adequate documentation of their claims. While conciliators can encourage the parties to work out a settlement, they cannot impose a resolution.
Nevertheless, conciliators have been successful in mediating agreements. Last year, workers or insurers filed 12,799 cases with the DIA. Almost all of these cases were scheduled for conciliation. DIA conciliators helped settle 5,873 cases or 46% of the cases that came their way.
DIA conciliators provide a tremendous service by reducing the number of cases that go before an Administrative Judge at conference. Disputes are settled quicker allowing DIA to handle cases more efficiently.
To learn more about conciliation and the dispute resolution process, please visit us at http://www.mass.gov/dia
BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers posted on Jan 5
Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers
MA Minimum Wage is $9.00/hour January 1, 2015 posted on Dec 15
Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.
U.S. Renews Agreement to Help MA Combat Underground Economy posted on Nov 28
US Labor Secretary Tom Perez has renewed a three year agreement to help Massachusetts recover unpaid wages, back taxes unemployment insurance premiums, fines and penalties from employers who engage in fraudulent labor practices like misclassifying workers. The initiative commits the Department of Labor and the IRS to work with the Massachusetts Joint Task Force on the Underground Economy (JTF) which, since its inception, has collected nearly $56 million from unscrupulous businesses.