Post Content

technicien en carrosserieIt’s the law.  Anyone ages 14-17 hired by an employer for pay must have an employment permit. 

Recent interviews completed by Teens at Work Project staff within the Department of Public Health’s Occupational Health Surveillance Program found that among over 250 teens who had sustained a workplace injury, 25% of those teens did not have an employment permit.  Parents, schools, and employers need to work together to make sure that teens have employment permits before they begin a job. 

The Massachusetts Child Labor Laws restrict the type of jobs that minors can do as well as the hours that teens can work.  These laws are meant to protect minors from hazardous work and ensure that they are working a reasonable number of hours within certain times of the day and year. 

Massachusetts was the first state to enact a child labor law, in 1836, requiring children under the age of fifteen working in factories to go to school a minimum of three months per year.  Certainly, a lot has changed in the world of work from over 175 years ago, but minors still have, and still need, special legal protections as workers until they reach the age of majority.  For more information about the youth employment permit process or child labor laws in Massachusetts, visit

Written By:

Director of the Department of Labor Standards

Tags: , , ,

Recent Posts

BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers posted on Jan 5

Seasonably cold winter weather is here, providing a good opportunity to highlight ways to protect workers in cold environments. Working in cold conditions can increase the likelihood of workplace injuries due to reduced dexterity, impaired thought and a rush to get work done in order   …Continue Reading BRRRR! Don’t Let the Cold Harm Your Workers

MA Minimum Wage is $9.00/hour January 1, 2015 posted on Dec 15

MA Minimum Wage is $9.00/hour January 1, 2015

Massachusetts enacted the first state minimum wage law over 100 years ago on June 4, 1912. Thanks to the efforts of many committed individuals, businesses, and elected leaders at every level including the Governor, we have reason to celebrate again the Commonwealth’s lead when it comes to fair treatment of workers. Massachusetts now has the highest enacted state minimum wage set for $11.00 on January 1, 2017.

U.S. Renews Agreement to Help MA Combat Underground Economy posted on Nov 28

U.S. Renews Agreement to Help MA Combat Underground Economy

US Labor Secretary Tom Perez has renewed a three year agreement to help Massachusetts recover unpaid wages, back taxes unemployment insurance premiums, fines and penalties from employers who engage in fraudulent labor practices like misclassifying workers. The initiative commits the Department of Labor and the IRS to work with the Massachusetts Joint Task Force on the Underground Economy (JTF) which, since its inception, has collected nearly $56 million from unscrupulous businesses.