Massachusetts Law Updates

Official Blog of the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries

Category Archives: New Laws

Marijuana law approved Posted on Aug 14

Since Massachusetts voters approved a ballot question legalizing recreational use of marijuana in 2016, the State legislature has been working on rewriting the marijuana laws.  A major amendment was signed into law on July 28, 2017.  The legislation is called “An Act to Ensure Safe Access to Marijuana.” (Chapter 55 of the Acts of   …Continue Reading Marijuana law approved

Pregnant workers gain more protections in Massachusetts Posted on Aug 8

The Pregnant Workers Fairness Act was signed into law by Governor Baker on July 27, 2017.  Chapter 54 of the Acts of 2017  grants more protections against discrimination to pregnant workers in Massachusetts.   Specifically the law prohibits an employer from denying a reasonable request for   …Continue Reading Pregnant workers gain more protections in Massachusetts

Massachusetts Laws Effective January 1, 2017 Posted on Jan 9

Here is a selected list of statutes that became effective on January 1, 2017. M.G.L. c. 40R, “Smart Growth Zoning and Housing Production.”  Originally added by St. 2004, c. 149 § 92, M.G.L. c. 40R has been extensively revised. There are changes to § § 2-12 and   …Continue Reading Massachusetts Laws Effective January 1, 2017

Duck boat bill signed to improve safety Posted on Dec 14

Tour companies offering sight-seeing via amphibious vehicles, commonly known as duck boats, are required to add safety features and regulations while tourists are aboard and traveling on public thoroughfares. Signed by Governor Charlie Baker last Thursday, December 8, the new law requires the vehicles, based   …Continue Reading Duck boat bill signed to improve safety

Sexual assault evidence law changed Posted on Oct 24

On October 19, 2016, Governor Baker signed legislation to change the length of time evidence in sexual assault cases is preserved.  Massachusetts General Laws chapter 41 sec. 97B was amended so that rape kits will be maintained for 15 years instead of 6 months and   …Continue Reading Sexual assault evidence law changed

Rescuing pets from hot cars Posted on Aug 26

Rescuing pets from hot cars

A new law for animal welfare gives pets more protections from extreme heat and weather. St. 2016, c. 248 An Act Preventing Animal Suffering And Death was signed in a ceremony by Governor Charlie Baker August 24 after Bill S.2369‘s enaction in mid-August. Massachusetts joins   …Continue Reading Rescuing pets from hot cars

Massachusetts Enacts Pay Equity Act Posted on Aug 15

Massachusetts Enacts Pay Equity Act

Massachusetts’ pay equity act was signed by Governor Charlie Baker earlier this month on August 1 after the legislation unanimously passed both the House and Senate. Statute 2016, c. 177 An Act to Establish Pay Equity includes several components to strengthen fairness in hiring and   …Continue Reading Massachusetts Enacts Pay Equity Act

Transgender Anti-discrimination Law Posted on Jul 15

The Massachusetts Legislature passed Bill S. 2407, “An Act relative to transgender anti-discrimination” on July 7, 2016. Governor Charlie Baker signed the legislation on July 8. The law goes into effect on October 1, 2016. The law will “extend protections against discrimination for gender identity   …Continue Reading Transgender Anti-discrimination Law

Public records law amended Posted on Jun 7

Last week, Gov. Baker signed a revised public records law in Massachusetts, St.2016, c.121 (H4333).  Most provisions of the law are effective January 1, 2017. Here are some highlights: Most records should be provided in electronic form “unless the record is not available in electronic   …Continue Reading Public records law amended

Some Drug Offenders May Get Licenses Back Posted on Apr 13

Massachusetts is one of several states that suspends a person’s driver’s license after a conviction for minor drug offenses even though the conviction is not motor vehicle related.   On Wednesday, March 30, 2016, Governor Baker signed a bill repealing the 26 year old law   …Continue Reading Some Drug Offenders May Get Licenses Back