Post Content

Governor Baker seated at desk signs legislation surrounded by officialsOn Monday November 27th 2017 Massachusetts Governor Charles D. Baker ceremonially signed into law new legislation that increases the current penalties for fraudulent use of disability parking credentials. Joined by members of the Senate, House, Registrar of Motor Vehicles, Inspector General, as well as representatives from the Massachusetts Office on Disability, the new legislation aims to protect those who truly need accessible parking.

“We were pleased to work with the Legislature to pass these important protections for those in need of dedicated parking, while increasing penalties for those who abuse the system,” Governor Baker stated.

“This administration and the Registry of Motor Vehicles continue to be supportive of ongoing efforts to address placard abuse and welcome the new tools this legislation provides,” said Lt. Governor Karyn Polito. “We will continue working with our state and local law enforcement partners to hold those who fraudulently use disability parking credentials accountable.”

The new law amends Chapter 90 in Sections 2 and 24B, and includes the following key provisions:

  • Prohibits the use of a disability plate or placard by someone using the name of a deceased person.  An individual using a decedent’s placard or plate will be fined $500.00 for a first offense and $1000.00 for a second or subsequent offense;
  • Increases the license suspension for a person who wrongfully displays a disability plate or placard from 30 days to 60 days for a first such offense;
  • Increases the license suspension for a person who wrongfully displays a disability plate or placard from 90 days to 120 days for a second offense;
  • Provides that anyone who obstructs the number or expiration date of a disability placard or otherwise makes its visibility unclear will be fined $50.00;
  • Amends Chapter 90, section 24B to impose criminal penalties for forging, stealing or counterfeiting a special parking identification placard; and
  • Allows the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to refuse to process applications for disability plates or placards if the applicant does not provide documentation or information required by the Registrar to verify the information contained within the application.

The Massachusetts Office on Disability (MOD) provides training and technical assistance around these and other disability parking regulations.

Written By:

Tags: ,

Recent Posts

Governor Baker appoints Mary Mahon McCauley Director of the Massachusetts Office on Disability: Press Release posted on Oct 17

Governor Baker appoints Mary Mahon McCauley Director of the Massachusetts Office on Disability: Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: 10/03/2019 Office of Governor Charlie Baker and Lt. Governor Karyn Polito Governor’s Press Office Executive Office for Administration and Finance Massachusetts Office on Disability BOSTON — The Baker-Polito Administration today announced the appointment of Mary Mahon McCauley as Director of the Massachusetts Office on   …Continue Reading Governor Baker appoints Mary Mahon McCauley Director of the Massachusetts Office on Disability: Press Release

The Business Case for Digital Accessibility posted on Oct 10

Want to learn more about Digital Accessibility? The Web Accessibility Initiative posted an article discussing how laws are starting to mandate web accessibility, with the earliest web accessibility case dating back to 2000 in Australia. Read all about it at this link, https://www.w3.org/WAI/business-case/.

Vocational Rehabilitation: Key Stepping Stones posted on Aug 12

Vocational Rehabilitation: Key Stepping Stones This article provides a brief overview of the key stepping stones for all vocational rehabilitation (VR) applicants and consumers of the Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission (MRC) and Massachusetts Commission for the Blind (MCB). There may be exceptions based on individual circumstances   …Continue Reading Vocational Rehabilitation: Key Stepping Stones