Gift Certificates and cards are among the most popular presents to give and receive around this time of the year. But don’t pay more for the cards than you have to. DOR is reminding shoppers that gift cards are the same as a gift of cash and are not subject to the 6.25% Massachusetts …Continue Reading Shopper’s Beware: Gift Cards Are Tax Free
Even though the state repealed the tax in late September, more than 250 vendors filed returns submitting nearly $800,000 in sales and use tax on computer and software services. Because the law was repealed retroactively to the date the tax took effect, vendors are entitled to …Continue Reading DOR Expedites Abatements for Vendors Who Paid Sales Tax on Computer and Software Services
Employees and Employers Save on Taxes with These Options Guest Editorial by Cindy McGrath, Communications Director, Commonwealth of Massachusetts Group Insurance Commission Fall means open enrollment time for Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA), a tax savings shelter for employees and employers. If you are an …Continue Reading It’s Flexible Spending Account Open Enrollment Time — Save on Taxes!
“Too confusing”, “unnecessary” and “takes too long ” are just some of the comments DOR heard from taxpayers and practitioners who use Form 335U for combined reporting on corporate tax returns. DOR collected the feedback on 355U and its long list of schedules through a series of meetings …Continue Reading Business Feedback Drives DOR to Reform Combined Reporting Schedules
Technical Information Release 13-9 Each year the Department of Revenue issues an updated penalty schedule for individuals who fail to comply with the requirements under the Massachusetts Health Care Reform Act. DOR has announced this year’s penalty schedule applicable only to adults who are deemed …Continue Reading Individual Mandate Penalties for 2013
Curious about the history of cigarette taxes in Massachusetts? Click the graph above for cigarette revenue collections and tax increases over the past seven fiscal years. You will notice the last increase took place July 1st, 2008. Now in July 2013, another one dollar increase is in …Continue Reading Cigarette Tax History
When Carmine Santoro started working at DOR in 1974, the state tax on a pack of cigarettes was 16 cents. Eight tax hikes later, retailers and suppliers must now collect $3.51 a pack and file monthly tax returns to the state. Santoro has helped …Continue Reading A Personal Perspective on Administering Cigarette Taxes
Nearly 300 public and private sector attendees participated in three workshops last week to learn about valuation of solar photovoltaic (PV) projects for the purpose of taxation or for negotiating a payment in lieu of taxes (PILOT) agreement. Sponsored jointly by DOR’s Division of Local …Continue Reading DLS and DOER Partner to Shine Light on Solar Assessment