1. Unclaimed Refund List
The DOR has millions of dollars in refunds that have been returned to the agency and are waiting to be claimed. See if your name is on the list at DOR's Unclaimed Refund List.
2. Veterans and Surviving Spouses Exemption
Qualified veterans and surviving spouses may be eligible for a property tax exemption up to the full tax bill from their local Board of Assessors. Check the Veterans Property Tax Brochure to see if you qualify.
3. Senior Circuit Breaker Tax Credit
Residents who are 65 and over before January 1, 2013 may be eligible to claim a refundable senior “Circuit Breaker” tax credit up to $1,000 against their personal income taxes for the rent or real estate taxes they paid on their principal residence. See Circuit Breaker Information for eligibility criteria. There are also provisions for claiming the credit for prior years.
4. Turnpike Fuel Excise Refund
Any motorist or commercial motor carrier who buys gasoline or special fuels in Massachusetts and travels on the MassPike can apply for a refund of the 21-cent a gallon excise tax. Now that gas prices are dropping, more commuters might benefit from this program. For details and forms go to Turnpike Refund Guide.
5. Credit for Taxes Paid to Rhode Island
Massachusetts residents working in Rhode Island can claim a credit against their Massachusetts personal income tax for mandatory payments to Rhode Island under that state’s Temporary Disability Insurance Act. See DOR Directive 12-1 for more information.
6. Rental Deduction
You may be entitled to a rental deduction equal to one half of the rent you paid during the calendar year up to $3,000 for your principal residence in MA. See the Rent Deduction for details.
7. Commuter Deduction
Commuting costs such as tolls paid through an EZPass account or for weekly or monthly transit commuter passes for MBTA transit, bus commuter rail and commuter boat may be deductible. See the Commuter Deduction for details.
8. Deduction for FICA and Government Retirement System Contributions
Contributions up to $2,000 paid to Social Security (FICA), Medicare, Railroad and U.S. or MA Retirement Systems may be claimed as a deduction on your state income tax return. Government employees who are not covered by the Social Security system often forget to add the amount contributed to U.S. or MA Retirement Systems to their Medicare contributions in calculating this deduction.
9. Child and Dependent Care Expenses
Massachusetts law allows taxpayers to exceed the federal limit on employment-related expenses for the care of a qualified child under the age of 13, a disabled dependent or a disabled spouse.
The maximum deduction is $4,800 for one qualifying individual and $9,600 for two or more.
10. Earned Income Credit
Massachusetts taxpayers who qualify for and claim the federal earned income credit are allowed a state refundable credit equal to 15% of the federal amount.
There are a number of other exemptions and credits Massachusetts taxpayers may be able to claim on their state tax return. Why not join 96% of Massachusetts taxpayers and file electronically? Try DOR’s WebFile for Income. It’s free and fool-proof. The software program won’t let you make a mistake like forgetting to sign your name or attach a schedule and you get your refund quicker than filing paper forms. If you choose direct deposit, your refund will be even faster.
And after you file, you can download DOR’s Mobile App on your iPhone or Android smartphone to track your refund.
MassTaxConnect for Fiduciary Taxes – Get Started on December 5, 2016! posted on Nov 14
With WebFile for Income Stepping Aside, MassTaxConnect Steps Up MassTaxConnect, the Commonwealth’s new tax revenue system, will be expanding to include fiduciary and other taxes on December 5, 2016. As you may already know, WebFile for Income is now officially closed as we prepare to …Continue Reading MassTaxConnect for Fiduciary Taxes – Get Started on December 5, 2016!
November 6: WebFiIe for Income Makes Way for MassTaxConnect posted on Nov 4
WebFile for Income says goodbye as MassTaxConnect welcomes more taxpayers In anticipation of MassTaxConnect expanding to include 10 additional tax types, WebFile for Income will say goodbye to users on November 6 at midnight. Save the date – pay bills electronically through November 6 If …Continue Reading November 6: WebFiIe for Income Makes Way for MassTaxConnect
Form CA-6 is Going Away on October 31: What You Need to Know posted on Nov 1
Amendments and abatements are now separate processes Form CA-6 is like an old friend and now we have to say goodbye. It was very useful for filing abatements or amending returns. Now those processes will be separated, as they’ve already been for business taxpayers. Hello …Continue Reading Form CA-6 is Going Away on October 31: What You Need to Know