Robert Bliss, Director of Communications, Department of Revenue
The federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) is the federal (and state) income tax credit available to low- and moderate-income working families and individuals that can return as much as $5,657 in cash to a qualifying taxpayer.
If you are a working family with three or more qualifying children filing a joint return and your family earned less than $43,279 ($48,279 married filing jointly) in 2009, you may be eligible for up to $5,657 in federal and state tax credits. The state credit is equal to 15 percent of the federal credit.
A family with one qualifying child and earnings of $35,463 ($40,463 married filing jointly) is eligible for a credit of $3,043.
And for those without children, a single person earning up to $13,440 or a married couple filing jointly earning up to $18,440 are eligible for $457 in EITC.
It is estimated that approximately 50,000 eligible families in Massachusetts did not apply for the EITC, which would have delivered about $75 million in real dollars.
For information on the credit and on locating a free tax preparation site near your, go to the Mass.Gov web site for EITC.
To view a video presentation on the credit by Lt. Gov. Timothy Murray, click on www.mass.gov/dor and then on the video link on the homepage under "Tax Tips."
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday