Due to widespread flooding in Massachusetts in March, state and federal tax filing deadlines were extended to Tuesday, May 11.
For those who have not filed their taxes — and it looks like tens of thousands of taxpayers have taken advantage of the extension and have yet to file — this also the last chance to see if you or any of your older relatives have taken advantage of the Senior Circuit Breaker Tax Credit.
Tapayers 65 and older, both homeowners and renters, may be eligible for this credit, which could deliver almost $1,000 in tax relief for tax year 2009. Equally important, those who file by the May 11 deadline are also eligible to seek the credit for the three previous tax years if they have not previously done so.
If you are such a taxpayer, or know someone who might be eligible, please pass on the word about the Senior Circuit Breaker Tax Credit.
So far this tax season, 65,990 taxpayers have filed for the credit, an increase of 6,094 or 12 percent from a year ago. The average credit is $754, up from $729 a year ago, and the amount of credit paid to these taxpayers totals $49,782,100, up 16 percent or $6,686,650 from a year ago.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday