A sales tax holiday is on tap for the weekend of August 14-15 now that Gov. Deval Patrick has signed an Economic Development bill that includes a provision for the sales tax holiday.
The rules of the road for this holiday are virtually the same as for all the previous sales tax holidays. Many non-business retail items costing $2,500 or less are exempt from the sales tax, but some items –motor vehicles, motorboats, meals, telecommunications services, gas, steam, electricity, tobacco products, and anything else costing more than $2,500 – are not.
The sales tax exemption applies to sales of tangible personal property bought for personal use only; purchases by corporations or other businesses and purchases by individuals for business use remain taxable.
There is no sales tax on beer, wine and alcohol during the holiday. There is also no sales tax on single items of clothing that cost up to $2,500.
The Department of Revenue estimates that taxpayers will save somewhere between $20 million and $23 million over the holiday period. There was no sales tax holiday last year. In previous years, the holiday has saved taxpayers between $15 million and $17 million.
For detailed information on the sales tax holiday weekend, DOR has published a Technical Information Release. For a copy of the announcement of the bill signing, and details on other provisions of the economic development law the Governor signed today, click here.
Why do most Massachusetts taxpayers file electronically? Lots of good reasons. posted on Mar 17
If you haven’t filed your Massachusetts personal income tax return, there are very good reasons to consider e-filing. Millions of taxpayers have already taken advantage of e-filing, the most convenient way to get your taxes done. Why are we confident that e-filing is the very …Continue Reading Why do most Massachusetts taxpayers file electronically? Lots of good reasons.
MassTaxConnect for Fiduciary Taxes – Get Started on December 5, 2016! posted on Nov 14
With WebFile for Income Stepping Aside, MassTaxConnect Steps Up MassTaxConnect, the Commonwealth’s new tax revenue system, will be expanding to include fiduciary and other taxes on December 5, 2016. As you may already know, WebFile for Income is now officially closed as we prepare to …Continue Reading MassTaxConnect for Fiduciary Taxes – Get Started on December 5, 2016!
November 6: WebFiIe for Income Makes Way for MassTaxConnect posted on Nov 4
WebFile for Income says goodbye as MassTaxConnect welcomes more taxpayers In anticipation of MassTaxConnect expanding to include 10 additional tax types, WebFile for Income will say goodbye to users on November 6 at midnight. Save the date – pay bills electronically through November 6 If …Continue Reading November 6: WebFiIe for Income Makes Way for MassTaxConnect