The Department of Revenue has approved a 2011 penalty schedule for those who are able to afford the purchase of health insurance but fail to do so. The Massachusetts Health Care Reform Act of 2006 requires most adults 18 and over with access to affordable insurance to obtain it, and requires DOR to announce a penalty schedule for individuals who do not comply with the law.
In all but two instances, the penalties will remain the same as for tax year 2010.
However, in the case of individuals ages 18 to 26 whose income exceeds $32,496, the penalty will increase $6 per month, to $864 annually; while in the case of individuals age 27 and older whose income exceeds $32,496, the penalty will increase $8 per month, to $1,212 annually.
The penalties are pegged to half the cost of the least expensive health plan available that is approved by the Health Connector Authority.
Individuals whose income is less than 150 percent of Federal Poverty Line (FPL) or $16,248 pay no penalty, while those between 150 percent and 300 percent of FPL will pay the same penalties as last year, since the cost of Commonwealth Care insurance for them has not risen.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday