For nearly two years, the Department of Revenue has had the legal authority to issue notices of intent to suspend drivers' and other professional licenses in cases where taxpayers have ignored other means of collection of back taxes.
In the current fiscal year, which is soon to close on June 30, DOR has received payments from 2,979 taxpayers who received the notice, resulting in the collection of $17 million in back taxes.
In FY09, the program's first year, 1,308 taxpayers made payments of $9 million.
Issuance of license suspension notices has long been utilized for the collection of overdue child support payments. Since the inception of this program in Child Support Enforcement in 2004, more than $200 million in child support has been collected.
The topic of license suspension came up last week at a meeting DOR held for tax practitioners at 100 Cambridge Street in Boston. To see a video of the discussion go to DORMTV and click on the practitioners tab.
As you will see from the video, the issuance of a notice of intent to suspend a driver's license comes only after other collection methods have failed to produce any kind of resolution or payment plan. Suspension is a last resort for DOR, and is reserved for taxpayers who owe substantial amounts.
A taxpayer who receives a notice of intent to suspend has 30 days to respond. After that, the Registry of Motor Vehicles sends a notice to the taxpayer that the license will actually be suspended in 10 days.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday