A new report prepared by the Urban Institute for the Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation of Massachusetts has found that Massachusetts remains the state with the lowest rate of uninsured adults between 18 and 64 in the country.
Based on a survey conducted last fall, 95.2 percent of those between 18 and 64 were insured, a figure virtually unchanged from the previous year and up from the 87.5 percent insured in 2006, the year the state's health insurance mandate was signed into law but before its implementation began.
The report notes that "the higher level of insurance coverage in the state has been associated with improvements in access to and use of care, quality of care, and the affordability of care. These important achievements provide evidence that Massachusetts residents are obtaining meaningful, comprehensive coverage."
The study was based on a randon telephone survey of 3,165 adults in October and November of 2009.
DOR will issue its annual report on compliance with the law later this year. For the most recent DOR report click here.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday