The Department of Revenue's Division of Local Services has published a refreshed series of taxpayer brochures on a series of tax exemptions and tax deferrals available to the blind; senior citizens; surviving spouses, minor children and elderly; and veterans.
DLS has also published a new taxpayer's guide to local property tax deferrals.
These new guides, written as fact sheets, are both easier to read and easier to print.
As is stated in each of the brochures, it is important to check with your city or town's assessing office to determine which of these deferrals and exemptions is available in any given city or town, and equally important to determine your eligibility for these exemptions and deferrals;
The property tax exemption for the the legally blind is a maximum of $500 annually.
The property tax exemption for seniors varies depending on the community.
The property tax exemption for surviving spouses, minor children and elderly persons starts at $175.
The property tax exemption for veterans and surviving spouses provides a range of benefits up to $2,500 for an unmarried spouse of a veteran killed in combat or missing and presumed dead due to combat.
The taxpayer's guide to local property tax deferrals for seniors outlines a program which allows qualified seniors to defer payment of property tax.
Again, individual taxpayers should check with their local assessor as to the availability of these programs in each city and town.
DOR's Municipal Data Bank tracks local acceptance of the exemptions for the blind, surviving spouses and the elderly, and also tracks the amount of property tax exemption reimbursement awarded by individual cities and towns.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday