Post Content

Tip of the Week

Don’t Miss This! You may be entitled to a tax deduction equal to one half of the rent you paid during calendar year 2012 up to $3,000 for your principal residence in Massachusetts. Rent includes the amount you paid for heat, hot water, gas, electricity, furniture or parking, if the landlord makes no separate charge for these items. In tax year 2011, an estimated 818,726 taxpayers claimed the rental deduction reducing paying filers’ taxes by $117.8 million. See DOR's Rent Deduction page for full details…

Written By:

Recent Posts

Commute to work on the T, Commuter Rail or Turnpike? You may be eligible for a Massachusetts Commuter Deduction on your tax return! posted on Jul 16

Commute to work on the T, Commuter Rail or Turnpike?  You may be eligible for a Massachusetts Commuter Deduction on your tax return!

The Commuter Deduction was enacted by the Legislature to cover specific commuter expenses. To help understand the deduction,  the Department of Revenue’s DOR University has released an e-learning module explaining what qualifies for a deduction, real-life examples and how you can claim your commuter deduction   …Continue Reading Commute to work on the T, Commuter Rail or Turnpike? You may be eligible for a Massachusetts Commuter Deduction on your tax return!

DOR Offers FREE E-Learning Course on Fraternal Organization Tax Responsibilities posted on Jul 9

Help get the word out! The Department of Revenue’s online DOR University has recently developed a new free e-learning course on the tax responsibilities of fraternal organizations. Fraternal organizations are considered a type of Chapter 180 Corporation, which are formed for charitable or other purposes.   …Continue Reading DOR Offers FREE E-Learning Course on Fraternal Organization Tax Responsibilities

New Boat Owners: Don’t Get Landlocked This July 4th Weekend! posted on Jun 25

New Boat Owners: Don’t Get Landlocked This July 4th Weekend!

This is traditionally one of the busiest periods of the summer at DOR offices as new boat owners come in to pay sales taxes on their boats or other recreational vehicles, so   they can enjoy the holiday weekend on the water. So, want to   …Continue Reading New Boat Owners: Don’t Get Landlocked This July 4th Weekend!