It's one of the most vexing — yet explainable — questions homeowners/property taxpayers face: How can it be that my home's value has gone down but my property tax bill has gone up?
There are a fair amount of moving parts in the answer, but the quick take is that Proposition 2 1/2, the state's property tax limitation law, allows a community to increase its overall property tax collection (also known as a tax levy) by 2.5 percent, no matter what happens with valuations.
Some communities manage their budgets such that they wind up increasing the tax levy by less than 2.5 percent, but most communities, faced with rising costs, increase the property tax collection by 2.5 percent annually.
Communities with new growth in the tax base are allowed to increase their tax levy above 2.5 percent to reflect the tax that can be collected on new construction. The tax levy may increase by more than 2.5 percent in communities that adopt Proposition 2 1/2 overrides, or in communities that have yet to reach their tax levy limit.
It is also true that an individual homeowner's property tax bill may increase more than 2.5 percent because of changes in property values.
DOR's Division of Local Services has a wealth of information on property taxes and property assessment in its Municipal Data Bank. You can see how your town's tax rates stack up against those in other towns, review average single family tax rates, and see if your community is taxing up to its levy limit.
EITC – Helping Low and Moderate Income Families in MA posted on Jan 29
EITC, also known as the Earned Income Tax Credit, has been helping low to moderate income families in Massachusetts and across the country for over 40 years. In recent months, Governor Charlie Baker and members of the Legislature have worked hard to ensure that working …Continue Reading EITC – Helping Low and Moderate Income Families in MA
DOR Homepage gets a facelift posted on Jan 14
Today, DOR unveiled a brand new homepage intended to making it easier for taxpayers to find what they’re looking for when it comes to filing and paying their state taxes. DOR’s communications team used consumer insights and online analytics to better understand how taxpayers use the site, …Continue Reading DOR Homepage gets a facelift
Did You Know Home Heating Oil is Mass Sales Tax Exempt? posted on Jan 14
In preparation for the winter months, we want to remind you that home heating oil is exempt from Massachusetts sales tax. This winter season, DOR wants you to be prepared. Here’s what you need to know when purchasing your home heating oil: Who is exempt …Continue Reading Did You Know Home Heating Oil is Mass Sales Tax Exempt?