As of Friday, March 2, the Commonwealth has refunded $509.6 million to 1.07 million taxpayers.
Refunds are up $38 million from the same period a year ago, with the average refund $477, a dollar higher than a year ago.
With little more than six weeks to go before the April 17th filing deadline, 1.3 million taxpayers have filed, up 112,204 or 9 percent from a year ago. The number receiving refunds is up 78,479 or eight percent from a year ago.
The number of taxpayers who will eventually file a tax return will be about 3.4 million.
Eighty-two percent of taxpayers filing have received refunds, almost identical to a year ago at this time.
Turn around time for refunds has held steady — an average of 4.7 business days for paper returns and 3 days for electronically filed returns.
Usage of the Senior Circuit Breaker Tax Credit is up 21 percent, from 21,714 taxpayers to 26,344 so far this year, with the average credit returned $781, up $10 from a year ago. To date, $20.6 million has been paid to senior taxpayers, $3.8 million more or 23 percent more than a year ago.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday