A local news outlet recently contacted DOR with a question concerning the law governing refund of the sales tax on an item returned to a vendor or retailer.
The law is pretty straightforward: Retailers must refund the sales tax within 90 days of purchase of the item, as long as the consumer has the sales receipt or the retailer is able to verify the purchase from their store in Massachusetts.
After 90 days, the retailer may still return an amount equal to the sales tax, but the state is no longer required to in turn credit or refund the collected sales tax to the retailer, so if the retailer does return the sales tax in this instance, it is coming out of their own pocket.
As for refunding the purchase price, that is set by the retailer's policy. Some retailers will not refund the sales prices after 30 or 60 days or in the case of "final sales"; in that case the customer is generally not entitled to a refund of either the purchase price of the sales tax after that number of days.
Keep in mind the law says refunding the sales tax must be done within 90 days; but if the retailer sets a policy that all returns must be made within 30 days or 60 days, that time limit governs refund of the sales tax as well.
However, if a retailer's return policy permits a partial refund within 90 days as the result of deducting an "established handling fee," the customer is entitled to a full refund of sales tax paid. This issue was highlighted in a letter ruling issued by DOR on May 26 of this year.
DOR + Social Media — #CheckUsOut posted on Jul 28
State tax administration might not deliver such seismic news events as LeBron’s eagerly-awaited announcement of his return to his old Cleveland team, but knowing what’s going on at any given moment in the tax world could save you some time and effort, and maybe …Continue Reading DOR + Social Media — #CheckUsOut
Commute to work on the T, Commuter Rail or Turnpike? You may be eligible for a Massachusetts Commuter Deduction on your tax return! posted on Jul 16
The Commuter Deduction was enacted by the Legislature to cover specific commuter expenses. To help understand the deduction, the Department of Revenue’s DOR University has released an e-learning module explaining what qualifies for a deduction, real-life examples and how you can claim your commuter deduction …Continue Reading Commute to work on the T, Commuter Rail or Turnpike? You may be eligible for a Massachusetts Commuter Deduction on your tax return!
DOR Offers FREE E-Learning Course on Fraternal Organization Tax Responsibilities posted on Jul 9
Help get the word out! The Department of Revenue’s online DOR University has recently developed a new free e-learning course on the tax responsibilities of fraternal organizations. Fraternal organizations are considered a type of Chapter 180 Corporation, which are formed for charitable or other purposes. …Continue Reading DOR Offers FREE E-Learning Course on Fraternal Organization Tax Responsibilities