Post Content

Taking quick action, the Legislature has approved a bill authorizing a sales tax holiday for the weekend of August 13-14. The Governor's office has already said he will sign the bill, probably early next week.

The terms and conditions for the holiday will be identical to those of previous holidays; Technical Information Release 10-10 from last year's holiday will get a quick rewrite to make it work for this year.

DOR's preliminary estimate is that taxpayers will save about $20.5 million over the two days.

The holiday began as a one-day event 2004, and has been held annually since then with the exception of the summer of 2009, which was the same time the sales tax increased from 5 percent to the current 6.25 percent. The savings to taxpayers have been estimated as follows: 2004, $10.1 million; 2005, $15.4 million; 2006, $16.9 million; 2007, $15.9 million; 2008, $14.9 million; and 2010, $19.9 million (first time holiday was held with sales tax rate set at 6.25 percent).

 

Written By:

Recent Posts

VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24

Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an   …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!

What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13

MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers  Available November 30, 2015!   Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers.  MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax   …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?

F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10

Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday   …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday