It's not exactly stop-the-presses stuff, but it turns out that for the first two months of collections, the imposition of the sales tax on beer, wine and alcohol in Massachusetts has exceeded projections by about 33 percent.
The tax took effect August 1, but revenue from sales tax is not reported until the 20th of the month, following, so the first month's collection was recorded in September. Now, with October collections in hand, the combined two month collection of sales tax on beer, wine and alcohol totals $20.5 million, beating the estimate of $15.6 million for those two months by nearly $5 million.
September collection was $9.2 million (estimate was $7.9 million); October collection was $11.3 million (estimate was $7.7 million). The overall revenue collection estimate for this fiscal year from this new piece of the sales tax is $79 million.
There is also a way to measure alcohol, beer and wine sales on a baseline basis. The state levies an excise tax on beer and wine (wholesalers pay it and it is included in the retail price) that amounts to a penny for a bottle of beer or 11-cents for a 750 ml bottle of wine, for instance. That excise tax has not changed.
Bottom line: the excise tax collection for September and October is up 1.1 percent, so at this stage of the fiscal year demand for beer, wine and alcohol has slightly increased even with the imposition of the 6.25 percent sales tax.
If you'll pardon the pun, the liquor business may be recession-proof.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday