Almost half of an expected 3.3 million tax filers have submitted tax returns to the Department of Revenue, with the state filing deadline 29 days away (April 19) and the federal filing deadline (April 18) 28 days or four weeks away.
So far, some 1.571 million taxpayers have filed their Massachusetts return, generating $601.98 million in refunds paid to 1.274 million tax filers (81 percent of returns filed). The average refund is $472, down $6 from a year ago, but 56,225 more taxpayers have received a refund than at the same time a year ago. DOR has received 33,859 more returns than filed a year ago.
Electronic filing is increasingly popular, up 5 percent, with 1,356,141 returns filed electronically, an increase of 67,800 from a year ago.
The average turnaround time for refunds on returns filed electronically is 3.2 business days, down from 3.5 days a year ago, while the turnaround time for paper return refunds is 5.3 business days, down from 6.6 a year ago.
The number of refunds direct deposited is up 11 percent, from 713,127 a year ago to 792,594 this year, an indicator that costly Refund Anticipation Loans are less utilized.
For complete tax information, including DOR's own WebFile for Income tax filing program and a series of helpful videos, go to www.mass.gov/dor.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday