If you are 65 years or older at the close of the taxable year and your principal residence is in Massachusetts, you may be eligible for the Senior Circuit Breaker, a refundable credit against personal income taxes. First, you have to meet income thresholds:
For single taxpayers you can’t make more than $55,000 in tax year 2013, $69,000 for a head of household and $82,000 for married couples.
Next, the assessed value of your home, before you take any residential exemptions but after any amount that’s abated may not exceed $700,000.
For homeowners, the credit is based on any property tax payments after an abatement or exemption that may exceed 10% of your total income. The maximum credit for tax year 2013 is $1,030, all fully refundable.
Seniors can also claim the credit if they rent a residence.
Taxpayers who are eligible for the Senior Circuit Breaker must file Schedule CB with the 2013 state tax return, even if they don’t pay any taxes or have a need to file a tax return.
In tax year 2011, the most complete year for statistics, more than 86 thousand Massachusetts seniors took advantage of the tax credit, receiving nearly $67 million dollars in credits. The average Senior Circuit Breaker Credit that went into their pocket was $774.
VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect! posted on Aug 24
Take a look at our newest video introducing you to MassTaxConnect, our new, modernized online tax system. Hear from Commissioner Mark Nunnelly and several DOR employees about what to expect come November 30th when we launch MassTaxConnect for business taxpayers, practitioners, and professionals. Get an …Continue Reading VIDEO: Introducing MassTaxConnect!
What’s New with MassTaxConnect? posted on Aug 13
MassTaxConnect for Massachusetts Business Taxpayers Available November 30, 2015! Things are about to get easier and faster for Massachusetts business taxpayers. MassTaxConnect will replace WebFile for Business later this year and will feature the best of what WFB offers plus state-of-the-art enhancements to make tax …Continue Reading What’s New with MassTaxConnect?
F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday posted on Aug 10
Last week the state legislature passed and Governor Charlie Baker signed into law the Sales Tax Holiday that will officially suspend the state’s 6.25% sales tax for the upcoming weekend of August 15th and 16th. State policymakers have passed an annual summer’s sales tax holiday …Continue Reading F.A.Q. Everything you Need to Know about the Sales Tax Holiday