As the weather turns colder, the sky grayer, and the heating bills higher, there are some folks who start thinking about moving to a warmer clime, such as Florida.
Some of those same folks find Florida's tax climate favorable as well, given the absence of an income tax or estate tax in the Sunshine State.
However, before you pack up and go, and before you start spending those income taxes you'll no longer have to pay, there are a host of legal and financial arrangements you'll need to make to ensure that you are no longer a resident of the Bay State.
At the risk of oversimplication (blogger's prerogative), the most fundamental requirement is to spend 183 days or less in Massachusetts during each tax year (and to keep records that vouch for that).
That's the starting point for making the case that your residence is no longer in Massachusetts. But there is lot's more to do.
Click here for detailed information from DOR's website on the ins and outs of domicile. And for a recent article on the subject written from the point of view of a tax lawyer and estate planner, click here.
Don't forget the sunscreen.
EITC – Helping Low and Moderate Income Families in MA posted on Jan 29
EITC, also known as the Earned Income Tax Credit, has been helping low to moderate income families in Massachusetts and across the country for over 40 years. In recent months, Governor Charlie Baker and members of the Legislature have worked hard to ensure that working …Continue Reading EITC – Helping Low and Moderate Income Families in MA
DOR Homepage gets a facelift posted on Jan 14
Today, DOR unveiled a brand new homepage intended to making it easier for taxpayers to find what they’re looking for when it comes to filing and paying their state taxes. DOR’s communications team used consumer insights and online analytics to better understand how taxpayers use the site, …Continue Reading DOR Homepage gets a facelift
Did You Know Home Heating Oil is Mass Sales Tax Exempt? posted on Jan 14
In preparation for the winter months, we want to remind you that home heating oil is exempt from Massachusetts sales tax. This winter season, DOR wants you to be prepared. Here’s what you need to know when purchasing your home heating oil: Who is exempt …Continue Reading Did You Know Home Heating Oil is Mass Sales Tax Exempt?