Post Content

EITC, also known as the Earned Income Tax Credit, has been helping low to moderate income families in Massachusetts and across the country for over 40 years. In recent months, Governor Charlie Baker and members of the Legislature have worked hard to ensure that working families in Massachusetts are earning their share and benefiting from this critical tax benefit.

The EITC provides additional support for over 400,000 working families in the Commonwealth. We want you to know how you can take part in this credit. Don’t miss out on this credit. Of those taxpayers who are eligible for the EITC, only 79.7% actually claim and receive the credit. We want maximum participation. If you or someone you know earned less than $53,267 from wages this year, check it out.

Eligibility

EITC eligibility depends on several factors, including income and family size. Even if you have no tax to pay, there might still be a benefit for you to claim. It can mean up to a combined federal and state total of $578.45 in EITC dollars for people without a qualifying child, and up to $7,178.30 for those with 3 or more qualifying children. To see if you qualify for the EITC, match your income and family size in the chart below.

For Single and Head of Household:

Maximum Federal Adjusted Gross Income Number of Qualifying Children Maximum Federal EITC MA Rate Maximum MA Credit Allowed
$14,820 0 $503 15% $75.45
$39,131 1 $3,359 15% $503.85
$44,454 2 $5,548 15% $832.20
$47,747 3 or more $6,242 15% $936.30

 

For Married Filing Jointly:

Maximum Federal Adjusted Gross Income Number of Qualifying Children Maximum Federal EITC MA Rate Maximum MA Credit Allowed
$20,330 0 $503 15% $75.45
$44,651 1 $3,359 15% $503.85
$49,974 2 $5,548 15% $832.20
$53,267 3 or more $6,242 15% $936.30

Special Note: Taxpayers who are married and filing separately do NOT qualify for EITC.

Qualifying Documents

Most of the documents you submit to file your taxes are also used to claim the EITC. However, here’s a detailed list of documents your tax preparer may ask for to see if you qualify for the credit:

  • A valid driver’s license or other photo ID card
  • Social Security cards, a Social Security number verification letter or an ITIN (individual taxpayer identifying number) for all persons listed on the return.
  • Birth dates for all persons listed on return.
  • All income statements: Forms W-2 and 1099; Social Security, unemployment, and other statements, such as pensions, stocks, interest and any documents showing taxes withheld. If you run a business or farm, records of all income earned.
  • All records of expenses, such as tuition, mortgage interest or real estate taxes. And, if you run a business or farm, records of all related expenses.
  • Copies of last year’s state and federal tax returns, if you have them.
  • Bank routing numbers and account numbers for direct deposit of any refund.
  • Dependent child care information: name and address of who you paid and either the caretaker’s Social Security number or other tax identification number.
  • Both spouses will need to sign forms to e-file a joint tax return.

Commonwealth families work hard. Now it’s time to let EITC work for you. To find out more about EITC or free tax preparation sites, visit our Earned Income Tax Credit page.

Written By:

Recent Posts

MassTaxConnect for Fiduciary Taxes – Get Started on December 5, 2016! posted on Nov 14

With WebFile for Income Stepping Aside, MassTaxConnect Steps Up MassTaxConnect, the Commonwealth’s new tax revenue system, will be expanding to include fiduciary and other taxes on December 5, 2016. As you may already know, WebFile for Income is now officially closed as we prepare to   …Continue Reading MassTaxConnect for Fiduciary Taxes – Get Started on December 5, 2016!

November 6: WebFiIe for Income Makes Way for MassTaxConnect posted on Nov 4

WebFile for Income says goodbye as MassTaxConnect welcomes more taxpayers In anticipation of MassTaxConnect expanding to include 10 additional tax types, WebFile for Income will say goodbye to users on November 6 at midnight. Save the date – pay bills electronically through November 6 If   …Continue Reading November 6: WebFiIe for Income Makes Way for MassTaxConnect

Form CA-6 is Going Away on October 31: What You Need to Know posted on Nov 1

Amendments and abatements are now separate processes       Form CA-6 is like an old friend and now we have to say goodbye. It was very useful for filing abatements or amending returns. Now those processes will be separated, as they’ve already been for business taxpayers. Hello   …Continue Reading Form CA-6 is Going Away on October 31: What You Need to Know