Following today's fatal accident involving a Massachusetts state trooper, MassDOT reminds motorists to follow the law and "move over" to protect public servants and others who may be along roadsides.
The "Move Over" law, which took effect in March 2009, is meant to help protect police, firefighters, paramedics, tow truck drivers, and all roadside emergency and maintenance workers. The law requires all drivers approaching a stationary emergency or maintenance vehicle with flashing lights to move to the next adjacent lane if it is safe to do so, and, barring that, to reduce their speed. Violating the Move Over Law could result in a fine of up to $100.
Every year, first responders across the country are injured or killed while providing emergency roadside help. Several Massachusetts state troopers have been injured on the job in the past 18 months prior to today's fatal accident. According to the Merit Rating Board, in 2008 there were nearly 2000 violations of the Chapter 89 law which deals with obstructing emergency vehicles including failure to yield and following too closely.
Learn more by visiting the Executive Office of Public Safety on the web here.
Check MassDOT RMV Safe Driving Tips here.