Post Content

MassDOT RMV has entered into a reciprocal agreement with the Republic of Korea to convert valid Korean licenses, equivalent to a Class D, to Massachusetts Class D licenses. 

Upon conversion, the Korean license must be surrendered to the RMV to be stored at the Korean consulate.

As part of this agreement, a Massachusetts resident who moves to the Republic of Korea will also be allowed to convert his/her Massachusetts license to a Korean license.

To convert a Korean license, you must:

Be at least 18 years of age
Meet the Massachusetts residency requirements
Meet the RMV’s identification requirements
Provide a Korean driving record indicating that you are currently licensed to operate a passenger motor vehicle

This driving record is only available in the Republic of Korea.  If you do not have one, you cannot convert your Korean license and will need to take a written test and a road test.

If the driving record has any points due to driving offenses, the Korean consulate will provide an addendum to the driving record to explain each driving offense.  You must present this along with the driving record.   Procedures are listed after the break.


Procedure

Obtain a Korean Driver’s License Translation completed and stamped by the Korean consulate. 
 
Korean Consulate Contact Information:
One Gateway Center, Suite 251
300 Washington Street
Newton, MA 02458
Phone: 617-641-2830. 
Website: http://usa-boston.mofat.go.kr/eng/am/usa-boston/main/index.jsp   

2.      Visit any full service RMV branch and submit the following:
·         Completed and stamped Korean Driver’s License Translation.
·         Completed License Conversion Application.
·         Original, unaltered driving record, certified by the Korean National Police Agency (NPA), issued no more than 60 days prior.
·         Provide documents proving Identification and Massachusetts Residency

3.      Pay the $100 license conversion fee.

4.      Surrender your Korean license to the RMV for storage at the Korean consulate.

Your Korean license will be stored at the Korean Consulate and will be returned to you if you intend to permanently return to Korea.  If you make a temporary visit to the Republic of Korea, the Korean Consulate will return your Korean license and hold your Massachusetts license until you return.

Written By:

Recent Posts

Baker-Polito Administration, Federal & Local Officials Celebrate Improvements at Springfield’s Union Station posted on Jan 24

Baker-Polito Administration, Federal & Local Officials Celebrate Improvements at Springfield’s Union Station

Governor Charlie Baker, Congressman Richard Neal, Springfield Mayor Domenic Sarno, MassDOT officials, legislators and other local officials today celebrated recently-completed improvements at Springfield’s Historic Union Station to Platform C. The $10 million project built a fully ADA-accessible 328-foot long high-level platform accessing two tracks, and   …Continue Reading Baker-Polito Administration, Federal & Local Officials Celebrate Improvements at Springfield’s Union Station

Baker-Polito Administration Files for $200 Million in Chapter 90 Local Transportation Funding posted on Jan 24

Baker-Polito Administration Files for $200 Million in Chapter 90 Local Transportation Funding

The Baker-Polito Administration today filed an “An Act Financing Improvements to Municipal Roads and Bridges,” which seeks $200 million in Chapter 90 funds to support local transportation infrastructure projects in all 351 cities and towns in Massachusetts. Lt. Governor Karyn Polito made the announcement at   …Continue Reading Baker-Polito Administration Files for $200 Million in Chapter 90 Local Transportation Funding

MassDOT, MAPFRE Insurance: Tips for Night Time Driving posted on Jan 21

MassDOT, MAPFRE Insurance: Tips for Night Time Driving

Winter driving is not only challenging due to icy and snowy conditions. It is also dark for more hours of the day than it is light. With up to nearly 15 hours per day in darkness, it’s dark during part of the morning and evening   …Continue Reading MassDOT, MAPFRE Insurance: Tips for Night Time Driving