Post Content

The Home Improvement Contractor Arbitration Program promotes speedy, efficient, and fair resolutions to disputes between homeowners and registered contractors and/or subcontractors regarding home improvements. It is part of the Home Improvement Contractor Act, which became Massachusetts law in 1992.

Is Arbitration Right for You?

Ask yourself the following questions to determine if arbitration is right for you:

  • Do you qualify?
    • To qualify for arbitration, you must be able to prove that:
      • There was a written contract for the job;
      • The contractor was registered as a Home Improvement Contractor on the date the contract was signed;
      • The contract was for improvements, repairs, renovations, alteration, or additions to a preexisting owner-occupied residence with no more than four units;
      • The property or residence is located in Massachusetts;
      • The property is your primary residence; and,
      • The Request for Arbitration is filed within two years of the contract date.
  • Is it the most effective way for you to pursue your claim?
  • Do you have enough time?
    • Generally, it takes 75 days to reach a decision.
  • What is the extent of your damages?
    • Any potential arbitration reward will be based on an accurate assessment of your damages.
  • How much will it cost?
    • The Request for Arbitration is subject to a fee based on the size of your claim.
  • Do you have enough evidence to support the claim?

Once you have decided that arbitration is right for you, you may consider finding a lawyer for legal guidance.

How to File a Consumer Request for Arbitration

With the help of the step-by-step guide on how to file a consumer request for arbitration, you can file a homeowner request form.

If you have additional questions about filing for arbitration, you can:

Have you been through the arbitration process and have recommendations or tips? Let us know in the comments, or tweet us @MassGov.

Written By:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Recent Posts

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In posted on Aug 4

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In

Once you’ve learned your rights as a tenant prior to signing your lease, it’s time to figure out what happens after you move in. The Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (OCABR) and the Attorney General’s Office (AGO) share information about your rights once   …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 2: After You Move In

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In posted on Jul 31

Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In

According to the United States Census Bureau (USCB), as of 2013, more than 37 percent of Massachusetts homes were occupied by renters. Searching for a rental home, signing a lease, and meeting new neighbors can be exciting, but it’s also important that you keep your   …Continue Reading Know Your Rights as a Tenant, Part 1: Before You Move In

How to Have a Safe Summer in Massachusetts posted on Jul 28

How to Have a Safe Summer in Massachusetts

After a long snowy winter, it’s no surprise that Massachusetts residents are enjoying the warmer weather — but as you dive into summer activities, make sure you’re doing them safely. The Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS), Department of Public Health (DPH), and Department   …Continue Reading How to Have a Safe Summer in Massachusetts