Post Content

Domestic abuse can be sexual, physical, and emotional, and affects people of all ages and backgrounds. If you or someone you know is in an abusive relationship, you aren’t alone.

A 2010 report on intimate partner violence by the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control revealed that roughly 31 percent of women and 19 percent of men in Massachusetts had experienced some form of domestic violence.

Understanding Your Legal Rights

The Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) provides a summary of the legal rights of domestic violence victims in Massachusetts, known as the as the Abused Person’s Notice of Rights.

The Abused Person’s Notice of Rights establishes that anyone who has experienced domestic abuse can file a criminal complaint against their abuser for threats or assault, and can request a restraining order from a Superior Court, Probate and Family District Court, or Boston Municipal Court (if you are a Boston resident).

Under the Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 209A, a restraining order — an order to restrain your abuser from coming near or attacking you — in a domestic violence case can also include the following:

  • Vacate Order — An order for the attacker to leave and stay away from your household
  • Custody Order — An order to take temporary custody of minor children from the attacker
  • Child Support Order — An order for the attacker to provide temporary child support
  • Restitution Order — An order for the attacker to pay for damages caused by abuse, including loss of earnings, medical expenses, and other related expenditures

If police have responded to a domestic dispute call at your home and you are afraid for your safety, you can request that the responding officer remains at the scene until you are able to leave. A police officer can escort you to a safe place — either determined by you or located by the state — or to a hospital for medical treatment if required.

It may feel like there is no way out of your current situation, but EOPSS and the Commonwealth have resources that can help, including listings for domestic violence programs in Massachusetts and a statewide SafeLink hotline at (877) 785-2020.

Tweet us @MassGov or comment below for more information on domestic violence resources and support.

Written By:

Tags: , , ,

Recent Posts

Apply Now for the Massachusetts Firefighter Civil Service Exam posted on Jan 19

Apply Now for the Massachusetts Firefighter Civil Service Exam

This is a guest blog post from the Civil Service Unit. Firefighters are some of Massachusetts’ most dedicated, hardworking civil servants. If you think you would thrive in a physically challenging job that involves operating heavy hose lines and pumps, maintaining equipment, putting out fires, and   …Continue Reading Apply Now for the Massachusetts Firefighter Civil Service Exam

Safe Toys and Gifts for Children posted on Dec 1

Safe Toys and Gifts for Children

Children love receiving gifts and presents year-round, and the excitement that comes from unwrapping a gift can fill a house with joy. While toys are meant to be fun and entertaining, they can pose several safety risks. In 2014 there were approximately 251,800 toy-related injuries,   …Continue Reading Safe Toys and Gifts for Children

Hurricane Preparedness: Be Ready Before the Storm posted on Jul 18

Hurricane Preparedness: Be Ready Before the Storm

This is a guest blog post from the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). Governor Baker has proclaimed July 16–22, 2017 to be Hurricane Preparedness Week to underscore the Commonwealth’s vulnerability to tropical storms and hurricanes. Historically, the majority of tropical storms and hurricanes that have   …Continue Reading Hurricane Preparedness: Be Ready Before the Storm