Post Content

Massachusetts malpractice laws were changed in 2012 with the addition of MGL c. 231 s.60L, which establishes a process and time frame for patients and doctors to discuss alleged mistakes by health care providers, and perhaps settle claims without going to court.

Under this law, a health care provider must generally be given 182 days’ written notice before a medical malpractice claim is filed.

This notice must include (1) the factual basis for the claim; (2) the standard of care the patient claims to be applicable; (3) how the patient believes the applicable standard of care was breached; (4) what should have been done to comply with this standard of care; (5) how the breach of the standard of care was the proximate cause of the injury; and (6) the names of all health care providers that the patient intends to notify under this section in relation to a claim.

The health care provider has 150 days from when they receive the written notice to provide a written response.

The response must include, in part, (1) the factual basis for the defense; (2) the standard of care that the provider claims to be applicable to the action; (3) how the provider was or was not compliant with the standard of care; and (4) how the health care provider contends that the alleged negligence of the health care provider was or was not a proximate cause of the claimant’s alleged injury or alleged damage.

If at any time during the notice period a health care provider informs the patient in writing that they do not intend to settle the claim, the patient may begin an action alleging medical malpractice, unless there is some other bar to the action.

Tags: , , ,

Recent Posts

New Law Gives Added Protections for Persons with Disabilities posted on Feb 20

Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker signed a new law on February 13, 2020 which gives more protections to individuals with developmental and intellectual disabilities.  Chapter 19 of the Acts of 2020 establishes a registry for caretakers in Massachusetts who have been found to have caused serious physical   …Continue Reading New Law Gives Added Protections for Persons with Disabilities

Real Estate Recording Fees to be Increased posted on Dec 10

Under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 44B section 8,  real property conveyance documents recorded at the Registry of Deeds are subject to a Community Preservation Act surcharge.  This law was amended by chapter 41 sections 29 and 30 of the Acts of 2019.  Effective December 31,   …Continue Reading Real Estate Recording Fees to be Increased

Portraits in Massachusetts Law: Lucy Stone posted on Nov 13

Portraits in Massachusetts Law: Lucy Stone

Portraits in Massachusetts Law is a regular feature of Massachusetts Law Updates. These pages provide links to biographical information abut people who have been particularly important in legal history in Massachusetts, as our government took shape in the cauldron of the American Revolution and grew and changed throughout   …Continue Reading Portraits in Massachusetts Law: Lucy Stone