Post Content

School is back in session and school buses are back on the road.  Here are a few rules of the road that you might not have known as they pertain to a school bus.

Everyone knows to stop when a school bus is loading and unloading passengers, but what you may not know is that if you don’t stop, you could get a ticket of up to $250. That fine can go up to $2,000 and a suspended license of up to a year for subsequent offenses (MGL 90-14)

 

Oh, speaking of stopping behind a stopped bus, even fire trucks, police cars and ambulances with their sirens on have to stop until the passengers have been loaded or unloaded. (MGL 89-7B)

 

Tell your kids to sit down, because bus drivers can be fined up to $500 if they drive the bus when the kids aren’t sitting down, or if they have more school children than seats. (MGL 90-7L)

 

Anybody caught throwing rocks at a school bus can be fined up to $500 and be sent to jail for a year. (MGL 159-104)

 

Unless they’re on limited access highways (like an interstate), school bus drivers can’t go faster than 40 miles per hour if they’re transporting kids. (MGL 90-17)

For more information on school bus laws search the full text of the Massachusetts General Laws.

Recent Posts

Criminal solicitation as a crime posted on Mar 27

Black’s Law Dictionary (10th edition, 2014), defines “criminal solicitation”, under “solicitation” (2), as:   “The criminal offense of urging, advising, commanding, or otherwise inciting another to commit a crime <convicted of solicitation of murder>.   Solicitation is an inchoate offense distinct from the solicited crime.  Under the   …Continue Reading Criminal solicitation as a crime

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Selected Secondary Sources posted on Feb 2

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights - Selected Secondary Sources

Selected Secondary Sources From January 1, 2019 through January 30, 2019, Massachusetts Law Updates presented a daily series of blog posts showcasing the 30 Articles in the Declaration of Rights in the Massachusetts Constitution. In addition to the text of the Articles, the posts include   …Continue Reading Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Selected Secondary Sources

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Acknowledgments posted on Feb 1

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights - Acknowledgments

Acknowledgments The series of Massachusetts Law Updates blog posts showcasing the 30 Articles in the Declaration of Rights in the Massachusetts Constitution, posted in January of 2019, would not have been possible had not the articles been drafted by John Adams at his kitchen table   …Continue Reading Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Acknowledgments