Post Content

Texting while driving is against the law in Massachusetts, and in most states. A driver engages in three types of distracted driving simultaneously while texting. Manual, visual and cognitive distractions mean your hands, eyes and mind are not on the road.

The Massachusetts Act Relative to Safe Driving states that drivers under the age of 18 are not allowed to use their phones, but there are exceptions in case of emergency. Drivers can not text while waiting at a light or stop sign, as well. First time adult offenders can be fined starting at $35 and increase for additional violations within the year. Those under the age of 18 will be fined $100, lose their license for 60 days, and will have to attend an “attitudinal retraining course.”

Written By:

Recent Posts

Criminal solicitation as a crime posted on Mar 27

Black’s Law Dictionary (10th edition, 2014), defines “criminal solicitation”, under “solicitation” (2), as:   “The criminal offense of urging, advising, commanding, or otherwise inciting another to commit a crime <convicted of solicitation of murder>.   Solicitation is an inchoate offense distinct from the solicited crime.  Under the   …Continue Reading Criminal solicitation as a crime

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Selected Secondary Sources posted on Feb 2

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights - Selected Secondary Sources

Selected Secondary Sources From January 1, 2019 through January 30, 2019, Massachusetts Law Updates presented a daily series of blog posts showcasing the 30 Articles in the Declaration of Rights in the Massachusetts Constitution. In addition to the text of the Articles, the posts include   …Continue Reading Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Selected Secondary Sources

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Acknowledgments posted on Feb 1

Massachusetts Declaration of Rights - Acknowledgments

Acknowledgments The series of Massachusetts Law Updates blog posts showcasing the 30 Articles in the Declaration of Rights in the Massachusetts Constitution, posted in January of 2019, would not have been possible had not the articles been drafted by John Adams at his kitchen table   …Continue Reading Massachusetts Declaration of Rights – Acknowledgments