Post Content

February has arrived and many workers feel like they have finally gotten back into their daily routines—unless you are a parent of school-attending children. Many public schools offer a break from classes this month and it is common for working teens to pick up extra hours during that time, especially for the young workers who have jobs in retail and food service. This is all expected and we want to offer the Legal Work Hours for Minors section of the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws in order to make sure working teens keep their safety as a priority.

The Child Labor Laws target two different age groups: 14 & 15-year-olds and 16 & 17-year-olds. Find the applicable regulations in the table below. Also, don’t forget that all teens under 18 must have a Work Permit from the school district where they live or go to school.

legal-work-hours-infographic

Written By:


Health Communicator and Outreach Specialist in the Occupational Health Surveillance Program

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Recent Posts

Highlights of the June 10 Public Health Council Meeting posted on Jun 10

The June monthly meeting featured an update from the Commissioner and a vote by Council members on a set of final proposed regulations. With today’s release of the latest DPH quarterly opioid overdose data, Commissioner Monica Bharel provided an overview for Council members. Next, the Council   …Continue Reading Highlights of the June 10 Public Health Council Meeting

Health Disparities Close to Home: an Op-Ed by Commissioner Monica Bharel posted on Jun 9

Health Disparities Close to Home: an Op-Ed by Commissioner Monica Bharel

Reprinted with permission from the Harvard Crimson, May 27, 2020. Here in Massachusetts, we are fortunate to have top university researchers, some of the finest medical schools and teaching hospitals in the world, and a robust state system of public health. But even a state   …Continue Reading Health Disparities Close to Home: an Op-Ed by Commissioner Monica Bharel

Highlights of the May 20 Public Health Council Meeting posted on May 20

The May monthly meeting of the Public Health Council featured an update from DPH leadership on the status of proposed amendments to regulations in the area of 105 CMR 665.000: Minimum Standards for Retail Sale of Tobacco and Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems. Following a discussion, the Council voted   …Continue Reading Highlights of the May 20 Public Health Council Meeting