Post Content

It is now getting close to procrastination time. Both state and federal income taxes this year are due on April 17 — and with two weeks to go, nearly 1.3 million tax filers out of an estimated 3.4 million have yet to file their MA income tax.

That's about 40 percent of all the tax returns DOR expects to receive for tax year 2011.

It's not unusual; at this time a year ago, 71,000 fewer taxpayers had filed.

Massachusetts tax returns are due on April 17 because April 15 is a Sunday and April 16 is Patriot's Day. Federal tax returns are due April 17 because April 16 is Emancipation Day, a holiday celebrated in the District of Columbia that closes government offices in D.C.

As of April 2, more than 2.12 million tax returns had been filed, 70,491 more than at the same point a year ago.

Nearly 87 percent of all returns have been filed electronically, up slightly from 86 percent a year ago.

More than 1.6 million taxpayers have received refunds averaging $469; a year ago more than 1.5 million taxpayers had received refunds averaging $471,

The amount of refunds paid is $766.45 million, more than the $745.13 million paid at the same point a year ago.

The average electronic refund is sent within three business days while the average paper return refund is sent in five days; those are essentially the same as last year.

 

Written By:

Recent Posts

How does the CARES Act impact Massachusetts state tax? posted on Jul 14

The CARES Act was signed into law on March 27, 2020 to provide relief for individuals and businesses negatively impacted by the coronavirus outbreak. The Act includes provisions for both individuals and businesses. We’re going to help you understand the Massachusetts tax implications of the   …Continue Reading How does the CARES Act impact Massachusetts state tax?

Press Play: Billing to Resume posted on Jun 4

To give you as much time as possible to catch up on your expenses, DOR temporarily suspended some billing and various collection actions as a result of the COVID-19 health emergency. You can always see the balance due in your account and make partial or   …Continue Reading Press Play: Billing to Resume

What you should know about taxes if you are buying or selling masks posted on May 13

As you know, Governor Baker signed an order on May 1 that took effect on May 6 requiring Massachusetts residents to wear face masks in public when they cannot properly socially distance. Many Massachusetts-based companies have been stepping up to meet the demand for non-medical   …Continue Reading What you should know about taxes if you are buying or selling masks